SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bath, U.K.
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Images not displyed in IE6

    I am using blue robots 3 column design and I hav eplaced images in the centre block. They display fine in Mozilla and Opera but not IE.

    When I remove the background colour from the content block the images display fine. I have tried giving each image a class with a higher z-index and marking each as display:visible but with no luck.

    can anyone help?

    joe

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict BenANFA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may wish to provide a link to the site causing the problem, or if it is not live yet then post the page code (HTML and CSS).

    However as something to try if you have used any absolute positioning then liberally spreading round position: relative in any elements (like the images) that are children of the absolute positioned elements.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bath, U.K.
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No probs, here's the page:

    http://mrjoe.co.uk/test.html

    BTW are you in Bath UK? Me too! blimey.

    Have tried giving each element position relative but with no luck.

    joe
    --------------------------------------------
    www.josephleech.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When trying to access the pics directly I get a 404. This is for both IE 6 and Firebird 0.7 in XP.

  5. #5
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,379
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    For Ie you will need to give the image a position:relative as mentioned above.

    So put it in your portfolio style.
    Code:
    .portfolio  {
     margin-right:5px;
     margin-top:5px;
     float:left;
     border: 1px solid black;
     z-index: 5;
     visibility: visible;
     display: inline;
     position:relative;
    }
    That should make it appear ok (when you have got your images back on line anyway as they were missing).

    Paul

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bath, U.K.
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, that worked a treat, thanks folks.

    joe
    --------------------------------------------
    www.josephleech.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •