SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey anyone now how to find out what apaches plugins does a server run?? php, SSI, tomcat, perl mod, etc.

    is there a way of finding out without telneting in?
    it would come in really handy.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph is one of the most useful sites ever. I don't buy from ecommerce sites which run on IIS

    http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph?...display=uptime Looks like SitePoint is being cool and running Apache. But it's time up upgrade to 1.3.14 to eliminate some nasty security holes, SP...

    Oh, and for other people: If you want to get the full scoop, telnet in to the HTTP port (usually 80) and type:
    HEAD / HTTP/1.0

    Don't forget the two linebreaks (\n\n). The server will spit it some info including the server name.

  3. #3
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netcraft is off a little....

    7:26pm up 134 days, 14:26, 0 users, load average: 0.40, 0.43, 0.44
    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT LIB %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
    21158 nobody 13 0 4428 4420 2064 R 0 87.0 0.8 0:01 httpd
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by W. Luke
    Netcraft is off a little....
    Only by one and a half days. Not bad considering it's a computer-guessed number.

  5. #5
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cool.

    so if i dont get any mention of php it isnt installed, right?

    i get:
    The site http://www.mibstar.com runs Apache/1.3.12 (Unix) @PACKAGE@/@VERSION@ mod_ssl/2.6.5 OpenSSL/0.9.5 Resin/1.2.0 on Linux

    for my site, is ssl for server side includes?
    actually, could someone translate most of this babble for me?

    cheers.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SSL is Secure Sockets Layer/https connections.

    PHP may be installed on the server as it may have been set not to identify itself, but it is likely that it is not running PHP.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    557
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mod SSL is the apache module for Secure Sockets layer, not SSI. If you see an address beginning with https (using the secure http protocol), it means it is using SSL.

    <edit>
    Karl beat me to that one
    </edit>

  8. #8
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so how do i know SSI is running? at least from telnet if its not possible...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •