SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Stoke on Trent, UK
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Headache due to Float Problems!

    I have tried to redesign my site using floating divs and a container div.

    I have been following the tutorial at http://css.maxdesign.com.au/floatuto...torial0901.htm to achieve this.

    The site is at http://www.freewebs.com/beev/index.htm and the CSS is at http://www.freewebs.com/beev/style.css.

    Hope you can help.

    Yours,
    Beev

  2. #2
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Beev,

    What exactly is the problem?

    Thanks

    Dan

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Stoke on Trent, UK
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I want the entire layout of the site to sit inside the container.

    If you look at the site with the link above, you will see that the content column, right column and footer all rest underneath the container.

    I have looked at the code thoroughly and cannot see where I am going wrong.

    Any help would be much appreciated. The page looks a bit closer to the desired look in Mozilla, but in IE6 I get the problem mentioned above.

    It cant be unsupported CSS, otherwise the tutorial I pointed to in my first post wouldnt look correct either.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Yours,
    Beev

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Stoke on Trent, UK
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have highlighted the Container with a red background, that shows up only in IE6 for some reason.

    It doesnt change the bg colour in Mozilla tho.

    Yours,
    Beev

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot Arkkimaagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you try to validate your code, the fourth error w3c gives you is the soluton.

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...ev%2Findex.htm

    You have an extra </div> in your code. You should consider also making your site valid, as it is not sucha big thing to do.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Stoke on Trent, UK
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Arkkimaagi,

    Thanks mate. Thats cleared it up. I put a closing div tag up when my Navlist was controlling the ul tag and wasnt actually a div tag at all.

    The things I do

    Thanks again mate.

    Yours,
    Beev


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •