SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Opera hates the body margin

    Ok at this link
    http://www.btkdesigns.com/seemac/seemac-test.htm

    I have a simple style sheet saying

    body {
    margin: 0;
    }

    Thats it, yet Opera still gives the page padding. Any reason?

    Thanks
    Bryan

  2. #2
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,254
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You need to add padding: 0; because Opera adds padding to the body by default.
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Dave, I appreciate it.

    That is why I love this place, quick help when you need it.

    However, that is why I hate the internet (ok, i don't)

    Off Topic:


    Off topic somewhat, everyone seems to say you have to do this and that for IE because it doesn't comply, but truth is, EVERY browser has something has something with it that has to have special attention, correct?


    Thanks
    Bryan

  4. #4
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jag5311
    Off Topic:


    Off topic somewhat, everyone seems to say you have to do this and that for IE because it doesn't comply, but truth is, EVERY browser has something has something with it that has to have special attention, correct?
    Yeah, every browser has their quirks. However, this particular case is just an idiosyncracy of Opera and not a violation of standards. The spec itself is open regarding how body spacing is to be implemented by default.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what about my footer. I want it to be placed on the bottom of the browser window. I have in my css style sheet for

    div#footer {
    bottom: 0px;
    }

    I actually have more, but I would think that is the main one when getting the footer to sit on the bottom of the page. Right now, IE is the only browser to place it on the bottom of the window.
    http://www.btkdesigns.com/seemac/seemac.htm

    Thanks
    Bryan

  6. #6
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jag5311
    what about my footer. I want it to be placed on the bottom of the browser window. I have in my css style sheet for

    div#footer {
    bottom: 0px;
    }

    I actually have more, but I would think that is the main one when getting the footer to sit on the bottom of the page. Right now, IE is the only browser to place it on the bottom of the window.
    http://www.btkdesigns.com/seemac/seemac.htm

    Thanks
    Bryan
    Um, it doesn't place it at the bottom of the window (see attached). Also, bottom: 0; would place it at the bottom of the body of your page, not the window.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks,

    ok, what do I need to do to place it at the bottom of the window, or is where its at the best it will do?

  8. #8
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Position: fixed; and bottom: 0; will work, but not in IE.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So my current method works in IE, but for it to work in other browsers, I make the change, but then it won't work in IE Nice


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •