SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Nice article - Multiple Installations of IE

    Found this off of webstandards.org

    http://www.insert-title.com/web_desi...s/dev/multi_IE

    Tells you how their is a flaw in windows where you can install multiple versions of IE, such as IE 5.0, 5.5 and 6 all on 1 windows machine.

    Also, there is an article about at www.webstandards.org where an ecommerce website is AAA bobby approved. This is the site in question
    http://www.karova.com/General/corporate/default.htm

    Anyways, just wanted to throw those your way.

    Bryan

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This was also in the last SitePoint Tech Times article, #77

    It gives the same site.

  3. #3
    One Dream. BigL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    434
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Very useful article, thanks a lot. Always wondered how I can test my site on different versions of IE on my own PC.
    Never Ignorant Getting Goals Accomplished

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    glad I could be of help. Sometimes previous threads address these issues, but they get so deep in the article database that unless you are specifically looking for them, there hard to be found

  5. #5
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the best thing ever.

    Damn Microsoft to hell for not letting us know how to do this earlier.
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  6. #6
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by M. Johansson
    This is the best thing ever.

    Damn Microsoft to hell for not letting us know how to do this earlier.
    It could be that it wasn't possible with IE's earlier architectures.

  7. #7
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    It could be that it wasn't possible with IE's earlier architectures.
    Earlier than what?
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  8. #8
    1-800-JMULDER JMulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, truelly a god send that someone discovered this. Immediately whipped up IE5.01 SP2 on this machine. Now I can really put that Pentium 100 with Win98 in the closet

    Off Topic:

    Does anyone know how different IE5.01 SP2 for Windows is from the default IE5 installation for Windows? To me it seems like it has some bugfixes
    Jeroen Mulder

    w: www.jeroenmulder.com

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i am still trying to figure out if the file is 1 exe file, if I can WinRAR it that way, or I have to go through the installation process first, then deal with the *.cabs

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Someone has posted archives of the needed files here so you don't need to extract the CABs.

    Here -> http://www.skyzyx.com/archives/000094.php

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    DAMN! Thats better then my post

    Thanks, I appreciate it.

    REP GIVEN!

    --edit--
    Says I must spread it around before giving it to you.

    Weird

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found a bug in the 4.01 version of IE on that last page posted. It will not let me view any websites except for the homepage. I get an error saying that the url http:/// can't be used, even if you don't type in the http, it still gives you that error.

  13. #13
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  14. #14
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jag5311
    I found a bug in the 4.01 version of IE on that last page posted. It will not let me view any websites except for the homepage. I get an error saying that the url http:/// can't be used, even if you don't type in the http, it still gives you that error.
    IE4? What are you, some kind of HTML masochist?
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard jag5311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana
    Posts
    3,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    , hey, some people still use it.

    REMEMBER, Standards, we must code for everyone

  16. #16
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by M. Johansson
    IE4? What are you, some kind of HTML masochist?
    IE4 is actually not so bad with simple CSS layouts. Sure it's got its bugs, but it beats the pants off of Netscape 4.x

  17. #17
    The knight who said ni! RockyShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Rockhampton, Australia
    Posts
    699
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jag5311
    I found a bug in the 4.01 version of IE on that last page posted. It will not let me view any websites except for the homepage. I get an error saying that the url http:/// can't be used, even if you don't type in the http, it still gives you that error.
    I installed IE3 as well - geeze! That one brings back some memories!

    For IE4, you have to go File --> Open and type the URL in there. Dunno why, but that works...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •