SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Helston, Cornwall, England
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE6 Print failure

    Hi All,

    I am in the final stages of developing my site, or at least that is what I thought until I tried to print off a page in IE6. The IE "encountered a problem window" pops up and then the browser shuts down. The page prints fine in IE 5 and 5.5 as well as NS6 and 7 and Mozilla.

    The offending page is here

    Any ideas?

    Warren

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast ArgentinaCoders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi!

    I want to help you, but... where is the popup?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Helston, Cornwall, England
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    It is not a pop up window, but the Microsoft error message, the one that asks if you want to send it to Microsoft. If you view the page in IE6 and hit print on the toolbar, you'll see.

  4. #4
    Ensure you finish what you sta bronze trophy John Colby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    University of Central England, U.K.
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First off, have a look at this validation report:

    http://www.htmlhelp.com/cgi-bin/vali...h&warnings=yes
    John
    No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission
    or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and
    some may have enjoyed the experience.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Helston, Cornwall, England
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi John,

    Yes there are errors here but as the pages are built on a template, you would have thought that the other pages for example the home page would also fail the print test, but it does not.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot rae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    bedroom :P
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I looked that page with IE6 and I don't have any issue. Maybe that's "just" a service pack issue.
    d(o.O)b -- Notice: undefined variable: /me

  7. #7
    Ensure you finish what you sta bronze trophy John Colby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    University of Central England, U.K.
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm

    Yes, I've seen this type of 'feature' on several pages on several browsers - it's not only IE, Opera 7.1(ish) used to have it quite regularly, Firebird 0.6 on a couple of occasions, IE I've just put down to, well, IE. Opera and Firebird I have no issues with at the moment.

    If you have windiff or similar (Google for them) try comparing a file that works with one that doesn't to see just what the differences are - which is the way I'd start going about it. Otherwise I'm afraid I'm not much further help.
    John
    No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission
    or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and
    some may have enjoyed the experience.

  8. #8
    Ensure you finish what you sta bronze trophy John Colby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    University of Central England, U.K.
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In response to Rae's suggestion, my IE is 6.0.2800.1106.xpsp2.030422-1633 and that's one giving the failure.
    John
    No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission
    or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and
    some may have enjoyed the experience.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Helston, Cornwall, England
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I'm just going to see if my IE6 is up to date, then I think that it will have to do with the php script within the body content. Thanks for the help.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Helston, Cornwall, England
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just checked mine and it's 6.0.2600.0000.xpclnt_qfe.021108-2107IS


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •