SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

CSS design/layout times?

I'm beginning to wonder if I'm slow, stupid, both or neither here so I thought I'd ask the CSS gurus - how long does it take you to complete a design that involves positioning?

I've spent a good portion of the last two days on this and I'm ready to go back to tables (gasp, yes, me, for this one layout!).

Any times, encouragement would be most welcome.

And if you think I'm just stupid, then please point me to some good links, I've been everywhere I can think of on the net.
    <abbey />
    HTML/XHTML/CSS coding
    Abbey Ink

Pointiest Petitions carrotflowers's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How I sympathize with you! Although I am no expert, so I won't be much help. For the site I am currently doing, I tried to (for the first time) axe tables and completely separate my formatting from structure. I'd say I spent a good few days doing this, and I didn't even touch one section.

I'm going to point out a couple links, even though you already know from experience that there are tons on the web. I found this list of links pretty good:
    http://www.websitetips.com/css/index.shtml
    then there are the sites everyone mentions, like alistapart.com, glish.com/css, http://meyerweb.com/eric/css/, thenoodleincident.com.

I think it's something that doesn't go fast right when you begin. But with more experience, it'll get faster. My best resource was right here at SP, where when I hit a wall SPers, esp Paul O'B or DougBTX, knocked it down for me. Keep practicing is my advice!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by abbey
    I've spent a good portion of the last two days on this and I'm ready to go back to tables (gasp, yes, me, for this one layout!).