SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Stamford, CT, USA
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile Suppress printing of title and url?

    Hi,

    When I print a web page, Windows seems to want to put the page title and page number at the top and the url at the bottom and date at the bottom of each page.

    Is it possible to suppress this extra info and just print the page itself?

    Ed

  2. #2
    American't awestmoreland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    File / Page Setup then blank Header and Footer fields.
    From the English nation to a US location.

  3. #3
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ed, I'm not asking you again. Quit posting the same thread over and over again.
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Stamford, CT, USA
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sketch
    Ed, I'm not asking you again. Quit posting the same thread over and over again.
    Huh? I originally posted this question to the html forum and a user was nice enough to suggest I post to the js forum.

    I "thought" I had done that yesterday, but the thread never showed up (did you delete it?). So I posted again today.

    I have not received any messages from you about cross/duplicate posting. If you sent any, I never got them.

    Ed

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Stamford, CT, USA
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by awestmoreland
    File / Page Setup then blank Header and Footer fields.
    Thanks. I didn't realize I could do that.

    But I'm really looking for a way to suppress the header/footer in code so that the user doesn't have to.

    Thanks, Ed

  6. #6
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I merged your threads before and now they are gone so....someone removed it. I thought it was you. I know it wasn't me. Just please be careful about repeating yourself across the forum, ok?
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  7. #7
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To the best of my knowledge, this is strictly a user-setting, and can't be done with script or otherwise.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Hunter
    But I'm really looking for a way to suppress the header/footer in code so that the user doesn't have to.
    In most cases they want it so they can find your site again.

    Douglas
    Hello World


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •