SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot Klav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Operating System not found

    I was browsing around a few Websites that I regularly visit when an error message flashed up on screen for about a second, then the computer just shut down completely. And now, whenever I try to start my machine, I keep getting a message saying "Operating System not found".

    Any ideas what might be wrong with it? A virus?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It could very well be a virus. You now need a floppy book disk to see what the problem is.
    You may find some help here:
    www.bootdisk.com
    .
    2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9
    2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9
    2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

  3. #3
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    most likely your hard drive has gone bad somehow, or also it could be that your ntloadr file has become corrupt.
    i love php

  4. #4
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Standard boot floppies are of no use if you have NTFS (Win 2K, XP etc).

    It's either a hard disk not being detected/recognised or the operating system "boot" files not being read. You could try to boot from CD and do a reinstall on top of the existing Windows. That sometimes helps.

  5. #5
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could reinstall windows, but if you have an extra IDE cable lying around, try that first. It's a lot faster and it will at least rule out one piece of the puzzle.

    I've seen this error from both bad hard drives, bad cables and corrupted OS. I usually check the cables. Try to boot to a command line from a boot disk and see if the disk is accessible. If so, then you should be able to plop the cd in and reinstall windows.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot Klav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, since I posted this message I managed to get Windows XP running again by reformatting my hard drive and reinstalling the OS. Now though, the same problem's happened again, but worse.

    I'm getting the "Operating System not found" message once again but this time, when I enter my System Recovery CD, it does not detect an hard drive installed, which is weird. This means I can't format the drive at all now.

    I'm getting pretty tired of this as my system is only a few months old.

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm guessing that one of two things have happenned.

    1. The IDE cable, or power cable to the hard disk have come loose or could be faulty. Try a different power/IDE cable.

    2. If it's not the cabling then I wouldn't be surprised if it's a faulty HDD. I'd RMA it and get a replacement.

    Edit:

    Also, try heading into the BIOS to see if it's detected in there.
    Regards, Ant.

  8. #8
    ..back with a vengeance... Ingoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Benningen, Germany
    Posts
    6,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup, what Anthony said...and i guess it really is the hard-disk itself...enter the bios (normally hitting "del" at post screen) and check if the hard-disk is recognized at all...if not check the ide and power cable...if the sit tight i guess your hdd is broken

    Ingo
    Advisor - Community Team
    CHD-magician + + =
    Some of my sites: [1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10]
    Newest site: ZZ.GD - t dsn't gt mch shrtr thn tht

  9. #9
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep. See my post above

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot Klav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by moospot
    Yep. See my post above [img]images/smilies/wink.gif[/img]
    OK, I did what you told me to, I checked to see if my hard drive was being detected and it was. I then reinstalled Windows again and everything was going smooth until about 10 minutes ago when I got an error message and then the machine shutdown. Now when I boot the computer I get the same old "Operating System not found" message.

    Does anyone know of a virus of some kind that could cause this?

  11. #11
    ..back with a vengeance... Ingoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Benningen, Germany
    Posts
    6,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well..as for the virus: not really.

    It would be interesting to know what the error message stated (right before the machine shut down). Additional to that i would recommend that you do a full scan-disk, if you're able to boot again....and i'm almost 100% sure you'll find loads of lost sectors...

    Do you have any idea what hdd you've got...cause if yup you could get the appropriate tool from the manufacturer to check your hdd on a low level environment - a diagnostics disc which can do several tests and find out if the hdd is about to die...

    Ingo
    Advisor - Community Team
    CHD-magician + + =
    Some of my sites: [1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10]
    Newest site: ZZ.GD - t dsn't gt mch shrtr thn tht

  12. #12
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Even if the hard drive is detected, the cable can still be bad. The hard drive itself could also be bad. Try a new cable before spending more money on a new hard drive.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard xyuri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What almost everyone else says, HDD seems faulty

    Most vendors supply a tool on their website that will create a bootable floppy which has tools to check the Hard Disk and stuff. this is what Ingoal was talking about. Some of these tools are hard to find on their site, but believe me, theyre there if you have trouble I'll email you one.

    But you should DEFINATELY check the cabeling first.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Zealot Klav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xyuri
    What almost everyone else says, HDD seems faulty

    Most vendors supply a tool on their website that will create a bootable floppy which has tools to check the Hard Disk and stuff. this is what Ingoal was talking about. Some of these tools are hard to find on their site, but believe me, theyre there if you have trouble I'll email you one.

    But you should DEFINATELY check the cabeling first.
    All the cabels seem fine.

    My hard drive is the Toshiba MK3017GAP model. I'd appreciate it if you could e-mail the tools!

    klav@f2s.com

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard xyuri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Klav, email sent.

    Maxtor Disk Utility:
    http://www.maxtor.com/en/support/downloads/powermax.htm

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,811
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Klav, you say the cables are fine - what do you mean? Have you tried actually using the existing IDE cable in a different (working) pc, and using the working PCs IDE cable in yours? What were the results?

    I assume you only have one hard drive in the machine? If not you should ensure that all jumper settings are correct.

    Then to boot order..this may be a long shot, but have you checked that in the BIOS? If for some reason HDD boot has been disabled (CD/Floppy left on), you could experience similar problems...
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  17. #17
    SitePoint Zealot Klav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, in the end I thought I might as well reinstall XP one more time and see if the problem goes away after reattaching the IDE cables and securing the hard disk drive in properly, and it did until it crashed again today.

    I made an XP boot disk, placed it in to the floppy drive, booted my notebook and I get the following error message:

    File \biosinfo.inf could not be loaded.
    The error code is 4112.

    I tried repairing the OS with the XP Recovery Console using CHKDSK but it won't allow it as the disk is unrecoverable, or something like that.

    By the way, my notebook seemed to crash when I picked it up to place on my lap.

    Any ideas?

    My notebook spec. is:

    Compaq Presario 1500 Notebook
    Windows XP Home
    P4 2.4Ghz
    256MB DDR
    30GB Toshiba MK3017GAP HD

  18. #18
    SitePoint Addict eskuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    255
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At what point did it give you the error? During the XP install, or after?

  19. #19
    SitePoint Zealot Klav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It gave me the error while I had Word 2002 loaded up to be precise. I don't think that program's got anything to do with it crashing, though, as it's crashed in the past when I've been browsing the 'net or playing Championship Manager 4.

  20. #20
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sounds like you have a bad boot sector. If you reformated it this many times i dont see how it could be a virus. sounds like a bad boot sector on th hdd.
    Shane M

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard Keriam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    1,178
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shane M
    sounds like you have a bad boot sector. If you reformated it this many times i dont see how it could be a virus. sounds like a bad boot sector on th hdd.
    I would not rule out a virus entirely. Formatting by itself will not rid a hard disk of a boot sector virus. Using fdisk to remove all partitions and then reinstall partioning and reformating will remove a boot sector virus.

    However, if your system is only a few months old isn't it still under warranty? If so, I would strongly suggest contacting the manufacterer for tech support. You do run the risk of voiding your warranty if you do too much physical to the system (especially laptops or notebooks).

    Hard drives are pretty incredible pieces of equipment and hard drive makers have what is argueably some of the best quality control of any manufacturing process in the world today, but lemons can still get by.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    oops i assumed he was removing all partitions.
    Shane M


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •