SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy This page is not Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional!

    I am using the w3c validator: http://validator.w3.org/
    and I have so far fixed up all the complaints except the following:

    Line 55, column 58: there is no attribute "WIDTH" (explain...).
    ...=image src="images/search.gif" width="58" height="15" alt="Search" border="0"
    ^
    Line 55, column 70: there is no attribute "HEIGHT" (explain...).
    ...images/search.gif" width="58" height="15" alt="Search" border="0" align="bott
    ^
    Line 55, column 95: there is no attribute "BORDER" (explain...).
    ..."58" height="15" alt="Search" border="0" align="bottom" name="searchbut">
    ^
    Line 100, column 31: there is no attribute "BACKGROUND" (explain...).
    <td width="160" background="images/lgtblue.gif">
    ^

    How these attributes not be valid? I have become a little confused in all this HTML XHTML change that occurred - I seemed to have missed it and am still catching up and don't really understand the explanations which are given.

    I'm also having trouble trying to make <div> appear in Netscape 7.1 - has anyone got any suggestions?

    Also, I have taken out my margin-height margin-width from the body take and put this:

    body {background: url(images/bg.gif); background-repeat:repeat-x; background-color:#ffffff; border-top-width:0; border-right-width:0; border-bottom-width:0; border-left-width:0; margin:0;}

    in my css style sheet and also the body tag as netscape will not read it from the css style sheet (or is it the other way around), anyway I now have a white space around my borders in netscape 4.7.

    This all driving me nuts - any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Ensure you finish what you sta bronze trophy John Colby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    University of Central England, U.K.
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A URI to your page would help.
    John
    No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission
    or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and
    some may have enjoyed the experience.

  3. #3
    I am obstructing justice. bronze trophy fatnewt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by armadillo
    I am using the w3c validator: http://validator.w3.org/
    and I have so far fixed up all the complaints except the following:

    Line 55, column 58: there is no attribute "WIDTH" (explain...).
    ...=image src="images/search.gif" width="58" height="15" alt="Search" border="0"
    ^
    Line 55, column 70: there is no attribute "HEIGHT" (explain...).
    ...images/search.gif" width="58" height="15" alt="Search" border="0" align="bott
    ^
    Line 55, column 95: there is no attribute "BORDER" (explain...).
    ..."58" height="15" alt="Search" border="0" align="bottom" name="searchbut">
    ^
    Line 100, column 31: there is no attribute "BACKGROUND" (explain...).
    <td width="160" background="images/lgtblue.gif">
    ^

    How these attributes not be valid?
    They've been removed from the specifcation. They're deprecated in HTML 4 and are not supported by XHTML.

    Use CSS to set visual styles for everything.

    The idea is that markup (HTML, XHTML) is only used for the semantic (or information) structure of a document. There should be no visual style present.

    CSS handles the layout/look of a page.
    Colin Temple [twitter: @cailean]
    Web Analyst at Napkyn


  4. #4
    SitePoint Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok - thanks for that fatnewt, will give it a go!

    john, the url is http://www.southern-cross-group.org
    I'm hope you are able to help me with out with that netscape issue - its a real bummer!!

  5. #5
    Ensure you finish what you sta bronze trophy John Colby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    University of Central England, U.K.
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't test in any Netscrape - 4 is not used much and 7.1 is not being developed - I've just ditched them. Quite honestly I just don't think that it's worth bothering with.

    The left menu bar has different whitespace round it in IE6, Opera 7.21 and Firebird 0.7, which I think is the padding/margin issue with Opera. Try changing some of these settings and see how it goes.
    John
    No electrons were harmed during the creation, transmission
    or reading of this posting. However, many were excited and
    some may have enjoyed the experience.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi john,
    i have already changed my margins to the following:
    body {background: url(images/bg.gif); background-repeat:repeat-x; background-color:#ffffff; border-top-width:0; border-right-width:0; border-bottom-width:0; border-left-width:0; margin:0;}
    but netscape 4 doesn't want to acknowledge it.
    i believe it doesn't like this particular command - it's ok with margin-height=0 margin-width=0 etc.
    is there anyway i can combine the 2?
    and i guess i'm going to have to ignore the divs not showing in netscape 7.1 - at least i have a site map - although if anyone out there has any ideas...
    much appreciated.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1. It took a long time to load - and I have broadband
    2. "this is best viewed in Internet Explorer" - that really puts me off - if you can't make it work with the standards, then don't advertise it

    Enough criticism. Now which divs don't appear in Netscape7?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yngwin
    1. It took a long time to load - and I have broadband
    yes i know it takes a while to load - i am using the "old way" i.e. text in a table - i built the site but the content is added by someone else who i keep telling the pages are two long - i have broken them up but still...
    i'm in the process of learning the "new way" so hopefully all will be faster soon...

    Quote Originally Posted by yngwin
    2. "this is best viewed in Internet Explorer" - that really puts me off - if you can't make it work with the standards, then don't advertise it
    i didn't realise that this was offensive :-(

    Quote Originally Posted by yngwin
    Enough criticism. Now which divs don't appear in Netscape7?
    unfortunately all of them - the divs for the menus. they are in a javascript file.

    <SCRIPT language=javascript src="menus/menus.js"></SCRIPT>

    <SCRIPT language=javascript src="menus/header.js"></SCRIPT>

    i'm not a javascript guru and not sure where to start.
    failing this - do you know of a free or cheap menus script which works in EVERY browser?

    thanks for your time!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry for the late answer - haven't been back here in a few days.

    I don't know anything about JavaScript, so I can't help you there. But why do you need javascript here anyway?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    386
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you shouldn't expect those menus to work as they are using proprietry code...
    if you only code for IE why should you be surprised that it doesn't work in other browsers?
    This is very lazy web design, there is absolutely no reason for it as the dom has been fully supported for over three years now, and you are still using proprietry code from around 1998.
    Do a search for standards compliant menu systems or go to youngpup.net

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member armadillo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank very much for the tip - i've got some good menus now and am upgrading everything.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •