SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Bored One boredboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape 6 has a problem with "position: absolute;"
    it doesn't show, and I can't find "position:" in w3c's standards...
    Is there something wrong with using position: absolute; to position my layers?

  2. #2
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    'position: absolute' belongs to the CSS1 standard so you should be able to find it somewhere in W3C's vast hoard of information.

    There should be no problems with using 'absolute' for positioning layers, so this sounds like a NS 6 bug...
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  3. #3
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are having problems implmenting the CSS standard a good idea is to run your code through the CSS Validator:
    http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape 6 does not recoganize layers. Please follow the link below for an article on the differences with Netscape 6.

    http://www.webreference.com/js/column72/index.html
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  5. #5
    midnight coder
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    The flat edge of the world
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is really quite sad how it doesn't support layers...after it's sixth version...(whatever happened to version 5 anyway? Is this just some marketing tactic?)

    I really do wish I could use more CSS and XML, I couldn't even use CSS to asign the body a background image 'cos Netscape 4 doesn't support it, and not many people are taking up v6.

  6. #6
    Bored One boredboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'm confused...
    Netscape 6 does not support <layer>s or layers?

    i used the term layers as a generic term including <div> and <layer>

    So does Netscape 6 support <div>s?

  7. #7
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, duh. What was I thinking when I answered your question..

    The <layer> tag is proprietary to Netscape 4.xx only, and Netscape confirmed after making version 4.08 that the <layer> tag would become obsolete, as there was very little support for it from IE and W3C. Thus Netscape 6 now follows IE's Document Object Model more closely. Check out the link westmich provided you with.

    To answer your last question, <div> is still supported (as it should be, as it's a base HTML 4.0 tag).
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •