SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

JavaScript Guru (Big Ego) Arielladog's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey guys,

I'm really new to PHP/MySQL, but I've been through some tutorials on the net, including the one on this website. Anyway, I want to build a website to keep track of students grades. Without going into the details, I'll try to fill you in on what I want.

Teachers login to the website. It then has a list of all their classes and then, they click on a class, and a list of students come up. Then, they fill in their grade they made that 9 weeks or midprogress (mid term (4.5 weeks)). Then, when the teacher fills in that students grade, it will automattically update another textfield for the GPA, and some classes are honors and AP, so GPA is different, but I can do this. And also here will be teacher comments. Then, the teacher submits this and also, it will figure out the class ranking for that nine weeks (or mid progress) and the class rank for the year in that class. Anyway, what will eventually happen is each teacher fills in this info for each class and then. Then, this will be compiled into a report card which will be printed out, containing all this info for each subject along with GPA that nine weeks for that whole grade, GPA for the whole year, and GPA for the highschool career. Also, class ranking for this 9 weeks, this year to date, and for this persons high school career. Got all that?

Anyway, first, how would I calculate class ranking (in each class--then, I should be able to figure out the rest).

Next, this is the question I really have. How do I do my database. Here's what I've figure out I could do so far.

Have a table called Students
    Then, have columns with ID, LN (last name), and FN (first name)

Have a table called Teachers
    Then, have columns with ID, UserName (this will just be their last name), and PassWord

Have a table called Subjects