SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question How Do You Create A Draft Directory For Clients?

Hi,

This may be a silly question but I'm pretty new to all of this so please bear with me. I completed my very first site a few weeks back. I've been reassessing my whole process of developing and designing a site, and how I could possibly make things run a little more efficiently the next time around.

The last client I was dealing with needed several page revisions, and I always had to schedule lunch meetings with him so that he could view the site on my notebook. Needless to say, it was very time consuming! I once read that a designer created a draft directory where he uploaded the uncompleted site, and his clients were able to access it and view the various stages of the site's development without always having to schedule meetings.

Could someone please explain to me how this is done? I do have my own site that is in the process of being constructed. (It explains the services I offer,etc.).
    I'm just confused about how to create a separate area so that clients can view the stages of their site. All I can imagine is a link taking them to another page but if that's the case, then anybody could access it. Unless there's a way to make it password protected? As you can see, I'm really uncertain about this. If anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I create a subdomain usually, if the site is going to be complex. If it's a simple site I just create a directory, like http://www.example.com/clients/clientname/ (replace clientname with whatever you want). I then password protect the subdomain or directories as needed.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)