SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Inline Lists - Bad to use?

    I'm currently designing the navigation for www.bluevolume.com/dallasent with an inline list after reading an A list Apart article about lists. The main horizontal list navigation displays properly in Mozilla and IE6 with a 1px border to the left of each word with padding, but in IE5 there is no seperation (border or padding) between the words and all the links look jumbled together. because a reasonable amount of people still use IE5, I'm considering getting rid of the list and using some other method. Is there an easy way around this problem, or is it just easyer to trash it and use something else?

  2. #2
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,294
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You should be able to use those fine. The code at kalsey.com is supposed to work in IE5. There's a menu builder somewhere, but I can't find my bookmark for it.
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  3. #3
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,294
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I knew I'd find it once I posted

    http://www.accessify.com/tools-and-w...st-o-matic.asp

    Should give you compliant CSS menu for you to use...
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict xDev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd say your almost there. IE5 users are negligibable these days, microsoft even discontinued it a few months ago, so any updates or patches will take you to an ie upgrade instead. Eventually ie6 will be near 90% soon. But if you must support it here is one such menu that works in ie5:
    http://www.maxdesign.com.au/presenta...rizontal09.htm Same style you have on your page!

    There's other styles there too, its a great resource, and you can check the browser support chart for all of them:
    http://www.maxdesign.com.au/presenta...er-support.htm

    Your doing it the right way though. Lists are the way to go with navigation. Users without css will see an unstyled, unordered, html list. Its more semantically correct that a table hack or just a simple list of links seperated by delimeters.

    -xDev

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xDev
    But if you must support it here is one such menu that works in ie5:
    http://www.maxdesign.com.au/presenta...rizontal09.htm Same style you have on your page!
    The problem with this code is that zeldman defines specific height and width for the boxes. On the site i'm building the link text is not that similar with each other and therefore setting a universal width is not an option.

    Quote Originally Posted by xDev
    There's other styles there too, its a great resource, and you can check the browser support chart for all of them:
    http://www.maxdesign.com.au/presenta...er-support.htm
    I checked this chart and it says that Simple horizontal lists and other horizontal lists don't work in IE5 .

    I think the real problem comes down to the fact that padding is not properly supported in IE5. I guess I could set a specific width for link box if there is no other solution...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveMaxwell
    I knew I'd find it once I posted

    http://www.accessify.com/tools-and-w...st-o-matic.asp

    Should give you compliant CSS menu for you to use...
    I tried the link and I think that a modified version of "Clagnut CSS Tabs" would work, but wouldn't the same padding issue come up in IE5?

    Can someone test this: http://www.maxdesign.com.au/presenta...rizontal10.htm is IE6 and then IE5 to see if it looks the same with the padding and all?

    Edit:

    I just reworked "Clagnut CSS Tabs" into my site design, http://www.bluevolume.com/dallasent/index2.htm, so if you can, please test this site also
    Last edited by tempus; Oct 13, 2003 at 20:27.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'v tested the "Clagnut CSS Tabs" method on the site and it works in IE5. The only issue is that there is a weird padding issue that only shows up in IE5 on the left of the first link. I also used this method on www.studentsagainstterrorism.org, but there seems to be no padding issue on this one in IE5.

    Any Ideas?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •