SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Browswers ignoring style sheets!

    Please help!

    I'm trying to finsih off my company's website by next week. I'm building it in DW MX on a PC. 2 weeks ago I tested it on both Mac and PC. THe CSS worked great on BOTH!

    I tested it again yesterday on the mac.... the browsers there are now ignoring my style sheets completely. It brings up all text with the browser's default fonts only.

    I'm new to CSS, so I'm still keeping it all at a basic level. Here's a my testing page for the style sheet: http://wwwtest.uwgb.edu/weidner/library/css-test.htm
    (silly, I know... but it helped to set the styles up initially)

    I also retested NS 7.0 and found it ALSO is ignoring the style sheets.

    Please... I've been searching all over the next for something to help me and am at my wit's end!

    jberglund

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast tunnel7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Easthampton, MA
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have a address where we can see a sample page where the style sheet isn't working? I suspect that the problem isn't the browser but how the stylesheet is linked or something similar.

    Quote Originally Posted by jberglund
    Please help!

    I'm trying to finsih off my company's website by next week. I'm building it in DW MX on a PC. 2 weeks ago I tested it on both Mac and PC. THe CSS worked great on BOTH!

    I tested it again yesterday on the mac.... the browsers there are now ignoring my style sheets completely. It brings up all text with the browser's default fonts only.

    I'm new to CSS, so I'm still keeping it all at a basic level. Here's a my testing page for the style sheet: http://wwwtest.uwgb.edu/weidner/library/css-test.htm
    (silly, I know... but it helped to set the styles up initially)

    I also retested NS 7.0 and found it ALSO is ignoring the style sheets.

    Please... I've been searching all over the next for something to help me and am at my wit's end!

    jberglund
    Tunnel 7 | Standards Based Website Design
    http://www.tunnel7.com

    Follow me: http://www.twitter.com/derekallard

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, the one I gave you does just that. But, here's another one: http://wwwtest.uwgb.edu/weidner/seas...ily_Tomlin.htm

    I've been figuring it was something I've done in how it's linked. But, I have no clue as to how to fix it.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast tunnel7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Easthampton, MA
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    jberglund,

    try replacing

    <link href="../../library/wcpa04.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">

    with

    <link href="http://wwwtest.uwgb.edu/weidner/library/wcpa04.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">

    I think this may solve your problem.
    Tunnel 7 | Standards Based Website Design
    http://www.tunnel7.com

    Follow me: http://www.twitter.com/derekallard

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy blufive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    According to the W3C css validator (http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator-uri.html) CSS2 does not allow class identifiers to start with a number - and all your classes do. Changing them over to start with letters seems to work in Firebird.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay.
    Tunnel, I tried your fix, and unfortunately it didn't work. I'll give blufive's a try.

    Can I simply rename the classes and have them take effect over the site, or will I have to rename and do a 'find/replace' on the site?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, Paul, I got you rmessage.

    I've checked the link to it, it seems fine. In fact, I even tried the fix that tunnel gave me, to no effect.

    Fact is, it works just fine in IE on a PC. But, it doesn't work in NN7 (pc), or IE/NN for Mac.

    It's very perplexing. Is there another way I should have the style sheet linked for those browsers?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, guys.

    None of those suggestions seem to be working. I'll keep plugging away at it. I just have a REALLY bad feeling I'm going to have to rebuild the style sheet and go through every page on the site to re-link them.

    GAH!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy blufive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I now see one cell in the grid, down at the bottom right, showing up with white text on dark blue - the class has been changed to start with a letter - seems to be working for me?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot HardinComp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which browser are you using on the Mac? If it's IE/Mac there are known issues about IE/Mac and stylesheets. Sorry I don't have a URL I can give you but you may want to search the forum archives.
    J.M. Hardin
    My blog
    Registered Ubuntu User #10980

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard LiquidReflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,861
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Everything seems to appear correct for me (using IE 5.1.5 on a Mac) ... maybe you figured it out?
    Kevin Hauge : Modern Leaf Design : Follow Us on Facebook
    Client Axis v.08 - client / project management script

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes!
    Gav made the suggestion of removing the numbers I had in my style names (ie, .00BlackText). Which I had done to help myself organize things.

    After renaming those and cleaning the site up, it all working again.
    Thanks, ALL, for the input and help. I know I'll be sticking around for more help in CSS. (I'm learning just how much CSS can be used for.

    jberglund


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •