SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast Morpheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Miches, DR.
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, here it is:

    How exactly do make it possible, that the normal IE browser does not change he size of my font? For example I have some text in my page and the size is , lets say 12pt's.
    However, the user sets his browser font to "Large" and my text size goes boom!

    Is there a script to override these settings in the browser and make the font stay its original size?

    Thanks all for the quick help!
    Morpheos - Media Design/Motion
    Creative Kingdom
    morpheos@creative-k.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot Ace Nova's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont know if there is a script to override the font size settings. Its one of the things webmasters have to work around.
    Ace Nova
    Football Man
    InternetSprite.Com - Coming Soon!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe the browser is at the top of the hiearchy.

    inline element>page>site>browser

    If users haven't set specific fonts on their browsers, then your style sheets will be used. I doubt if most people have set specific fonts on their browsers.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast Morpheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Miches, DR.
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am very positive there is a script for that.

    I have seen it before.

    Morpheos - Media Design/Motion
    Creative Kingdom
    morpheos@creative-k.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Morpheos...it is possible to somewhat fix the size of the font using stylesheets, but is considered a nono as some people might have problems readint your text at such a small size...however, I am here to serve so...

    <style type="text/css">
    <!--

    body {font-family: arial, helvetica; font-size: 12px; }

    -->
    </style>

    The PX is what does the trick as that sets the font to specific pixel size instead of any changeable element.

    Just a note, this still does not work in all browser as some of the most newest might still allow you to override the page setting which is as it should be.

    The user is the one who should have the final say as to the size of the font, not you. If you HAVE to have ypour type at a certain size then the only sure way of doing that is to make it an image.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast Morpheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Miches, DR.
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Of course,

    however, it comes just so that there are pages that need such a specification since without them the pages my go haywire as soon as the user changes size.

    But i will try the PX thing. Neat idea,
    thanks for the help.

    Other suggestions are still welcome!!!!

    Morpheos - Media Design/Motion
    Creative Kingdom
    morpheos@creative-k.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use images instead of text, but I wouldn't recommend it if you have lots of text. If there is only a small amount of text that can't be resized like a menu, i would recommend you use graphics instead.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast Morpheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Miches, DR.
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats not the solution to the problem.
    I am talking about acctual text like an entire story or something like that, a huge amount of text. Images wont solve the problem, whats more, it would make it worse do to the load time.

    Morpheos - Media Design/Motion
    Creative Kingdom
    morpheos@creative-k.com

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes... And I told you that a big amount of text shouldn't be converted into graphics... Buy glasses

    Anyway there are no other solutions like scripts or something because HTML is the only element which controls fonts in a browser. (together with CSS)

    Creoles solution is one of the only ones. Thumbs up Creole

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Morpheos
    however, it comes just so that there are pages that need such a specification since without them the pages my go haywire as soon as the user changes size.
    no offense Morpheos, but if that happens, then you need to redesign the page. Part of good design is making sure that your page degrades gracefully when people do the unexpected.

    and thanks for the compliment CJ...
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Morpheos
    Of course,

    however, it comes just so that there are pages that need such a specification since without them the pages my go haywire as soon as the user changes size.

    But i will try the PX thing. Neat idea,
    thanks for the help.

    Other suggestions are still welcome!!!!

    You can set specific sizes with CSS, however, the browser will override any script or settings on your site if the browser's user chooses to set specific settings. Unless you want to create some type of trojan virus that will enter the users machine and alter the browser's settings.

    BTW, and this is just a guess, I doubt if most users adjust these settings. Generally, it's only people with sight problems that set their browsers up so it makes all text appear larger.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast Morpheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Miches, DR.
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Of course,

    thanks for the info all.

    I think we have solved the problem thanks to creole PX tip and some CSS implementation.
    Its not like I am making the pages so the text will move everything once the user changes the size. It was just an example. Thanks Creole for making that clear.

    Morpheos - Media Design/Motion
    Creative Kingdom
    morpheos@creative-k.com

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    'twas my pleasure
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •