SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Borders on Dropdowns

    Is it possible to setup the border and color (of the border) on Dropdown Menus? (Select Tags)? No matter what I've done so far, I can't seem to control it. (I am using a Windows XP Silver Theme skin, if that matters or not)

    I tried things like:

    Code:
    select {
       border: 1px;
       border-color: #FAFAFA;
    }

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    2,240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think this has been discussed before, and it is impossible

    I'm hoping it will be possible in later versions of CSS though.

    -Sam
    Sam Hastings

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist ucahg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    434
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think browsers need to address the issue, not CSS (for in CSS, isn't it theoretically possible, but browsers just don't support it?).
    Love it? Hate it? Helpful? Useless?
    Use the rate button to let me know what you think of my post!

  4. #4
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aaron.martone
    Is it possible to setup the border and color (of the border) on Dropdown Menus? (Select Tags)? No matter what I've done so far, I can't seem to control it. (I am using a Windows XP Silver Theme skin, if that matters or not)

    I tried things like:
    Code:
    select {
    border: 1px;
    border-color: #FAFAFA;
    }
    Windows draws the <select> boxes in IE, not the browser. That's why they're near impossible to add borders to in Internet Explorer.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's a good point. I have a MacOS skin on my Windows XP (Apple knows their stuff about design) And it DOES re-draw the dropdown boxes)

    Darn darn darn. Well, it'll just be the one form element that "got away" Thx guys

  6. #6
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aaron.martone
    Darn darn darn. Well, it'll just be the one form element that "got away" Thx guys
    You can still style them to make them look good in other browsers though.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •