SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 35 of 35
  1. #26
    SitePoint Evangelist Dave Morton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Carson City, NV
    Posts
    557
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    While you don't have server access, you do have the ability to upload a .htaccess file. If your server is Apache driven, you may wish to look into using .htacces to allow for the use of Apache's mod_rewrite capabilities. You can learn all about that in the "Configuring your server" forum. Hope this helps.

  2. #27
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dave! Hope everthing's goin great for ya!

  3. #28
    SitePoint Evangelist Dave Morton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Carson City, NV
    Posts
    557
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, Mike... We miss you, over at "that other place"... Things are, indeed, well, and I have a CBE question or two for you later (No time, now)...

  4. #29
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cool,

    have a good un

  5. #30
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Morton
    While you don't have server access, you do have the ability to upload a .htaccess file. If your server is Apache driven, you may wish to look into using .htacces to allow for the use of Apache's mod_rewrite capabilities. You can learn all about that in the "Configuring your server" forum. Hope this helps.
    Now what does that mean?? I asked if I could have my framed pages spidered by search bots & you are telling me to go for a .htaccess file?? As far as I know, its used to restrict access to the directory in which its present. What's that gotta do with search bots & spidering. I think that an ideal solution will be robots.txt file, now wouldn't be.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  6. #31
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    .htaccess is for many things. Dave is assuming you are using the Apache webserver, and that mod_rewrite is installed. mod_rewrite allows you to rewrite URLs into something you'd rather see -- so he's not talking about the spidering with this one.

    As long as all your links are in place, you have good <title>s and header tags, the search engines will spider your pages, framed and all, all on their own.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  7. #32
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, I get that.
    Now as to what Dave said, how do I know whether mod_rewrite is installed or not & how do I use .htaccess file for that, I mean re-writing urls??
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  8. #33
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, mod_rewrite is a Apache feature, so if you're running IIS, then you don't have it.

    URL-rewriting add-ons are available, however, for IIS.

    Which server are you running?
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  9. #34
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Both Apache & IIS. Actually I am not running any server but I have webspace on both Linux(which has Apache) & Windows(which is running IIS).
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  10. #35
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev





Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •