SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: IP Address

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What's the easiest way to find out your ip address once you've connect to the internet? Is there an ms-dos command?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At the MS-DOS prompt type: tracert sitepoint.com
    Or you can use any other site. But it will show you all the computers it has to go through to get to sitepoint starting with your.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Westmich

  4. #4
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    why don't use this MS-command:
    Code:
    winipcfg
    It shows several other stuff too, and yes, your IP is included too!
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On Windows NT or 2000 that command doesn't work, so here's what you need on those OSes:
    Code:
    ipconfig.exe
    Run that from the Command Prompt otherwise it will disappear before you have a chance to read it

  6. #6
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    James, I thought Win2k doesn't have DOS?
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It doesn't have dos, it emulates it very well though throught the command interpreter.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  8. #8
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or, you could aways go to http://www.techboost.com/ip.php

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can download myIP to check your IP. It can be found at http://www.ic-computers.com/freeware/myIP.zip

    With Windows2000 Professional I can just check my IP by bringing up my dialup status from the system tray and hitting details.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can check your IP in windows with the winipcfg/(NT)ipconfig commands, if you are in a dos window you can "ping (computer-name)" and it will do the lookup for you.
    Brad Ediger
    Chief Programmer
    DynamixPro - Revolutionize Your Future
    http://www.dynamixpro.com/

  11. #11
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the HTTP variable for IP is REMOTE_ADDR

    So if you have a php site just display the variable $REMOTE_ADDR if you have a CF site it'd be #REMOTE_ADDR#

    etc etc

    CHris


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •