SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how to I stop PHP from pre-loading my images? http://www.dlgsolutions.com


    please let me know. Thanks!



    Sam

  2. #2
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What do you mean preloading your images?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  3. #3
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well visit the site and you will notice that the entire site just "pops-up" rather than loading an image here and one there.

    You can also tell by looking at the status bar and seeing how the images are being downloaded.


    Sam

  4. #4
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This has nothing to do with PHP it is actuall a browser and html issue, since you have all yor code in one big html table the browser must load the entire page before its displays in it the browser, which mean all the images need to load before it will display. You should try making the top half one table and the bottom half another tbale.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  5. #5
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but when the page was a "plain jane" html page it would load differently.

    I notice a big difference between:

    http://www.dlgsolutions.com

    and

    http://www.dlgsolutions.com/test.php3


    they contain identical html code (minus a graphic here and there.)


    Sam

  6. #6
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is really hard for me to tell since your page loads in about a millisecond on my connection, they both go extremely fast for me, Sorry!
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  7. #7
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    darn it! anyone else?



    Sam

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard jumpthru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by DLG_1
    but when the page was a "plain jane" html page it would load differently.

    I notice a big difference between:

    http://www.dlgsolutions.com

    and

    http://www.dlgsolutions.com/test.php3


    they contain identical html code (minus a graphic here and there.)


    Sam
    actually, the html page loads instantly for me, and the php page loads image by image...whats the problem with it just popping up anyways?

  9. #9
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    many of the non-internet savvy people complain that it loads too slow. these are my target people...and I need to have a site that appears to load fast.


    Sam

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It loads in one "Bang!" because you have very complex editor-created HTML code. If you re-code the site by hand it will load correctly. Also, split the tables into several vertically.

    Here's some of the bad HTML code...
    Code:
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="5" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="6" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="120" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="9" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="6" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="59" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="114" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="17" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="114" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="11" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="7" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="84" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="8" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="22" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="11" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="1" height="1" border="0"></td>
       <td><img src="shim.gif" width="1" height="1" border="0"></td>
      </tr>
    Also, take away the comments at the top. If you're a web design company then you need to look professional, not someone who only knows how to use Dreamweaver.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •