SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: php4apache.dll

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Has anyone had as much trouble as me gettting the apache dll to work using PHP4 and apache on windows. I am always forced to run it in CGI mode and I would like to use it as an apache module. I have tried on both win98 and win 2000 and both just flail. On win98 when I use

    LoadModule php4_module modules/php4apache.dll

    It just crashes when I try and start apache on Windows 2000 it says it can't load the dll. I can run it in cgi mode on both, but I want to run it as a module. Yes I have copied the php4ts.dll to my system32 folder. Any ideas?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  2. #2
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I could never run PHP4 on my windows computer for some very odd reason...PHP3 is fine though.

  3. #3
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Couldn't help you.... I just use the PHP/MySQL/Apache Bundle when I am on Windows. Other than that I use Linux

  4. #4
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes but do you know how php is run cgi or module with that bundle?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  5. #5
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you want the commands it uses?

  6. #6
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No it is the way the pages are parsed, when you run phpinfo() what does it say for Server API. Furthermore if you don't know how php is run as a sapi or cgi then you probably won't be able to help me debug why the php4apache.dll doesn't load
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  7. #7
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine says CGI... I was asking if you want the DOS commands I use to launch Apache and PHP.

    Furthermore, I do not believe you can run it efficiently (or at all) as a Apache Module. Since it is the Windows version of Apache it does not run the same. (Get Linux, Get Happy )
    <Edited by Hartmann on 12-04-2000 at 10:23 PM>

  8. #8
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have Linux am Happy. Also have win98 at my house. I can't believe the windows binary of php comes with a file called php4apache.dll in the sapi folder if there wasn't a way to run it as a module. I have a linux box for serving up web sites running Apache PHP4, MySQL openSSL but I am trying to have another test machine at home running windows. And like I said before I have been using php in CGI mode for some time now, I am just trying to change it to a module
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  9. #9
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I really don't think it is possible yet. However that file may mean they are planning to make it an Apache Module. Let me contact Zeev and see what they're cooking.

  10. #10
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP can not be run as an apache module on Win32.

  11. #11
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Firepages!

  12. #12
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    firepages why does the dist come with a sapi module for apache? There must be some reason that it does?
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  13. #13
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I thought that the ISAPI was for IIS not Apache - this really is not my field though , so I should have qualified my answer above as 'as far as I know' cos.. I could be completely wrong, looking around I can find no actual documentation saying that it can or can not run as an apache module.

    But my thoughts are still that it can not under Apache on Windows

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard jumpthru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What are the advantages of running it as a module vs. cgi?

  15. #15
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    firepages the isapi or internet service api is for IIS on NT there is also a php4apache.dll in the sapi folder, which would lead me to belive that yes there must be some way to make this work with Apache. I imagine the module would be a lot faster on windows, since in cgi the php.ini file gets called everytimea page request happens.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by jumpthru
    What are the advantages of running it as a module vs. cgi?
    Besides the raw speed increase (since Apache doesn't have to launch a new process for each client request), running PHP as a server module (either using ISAPI or as an Apache module) enables several features of the language that don't work in CGI mode -- the ability to do sub-requests to process SSI's, for example.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  17. #17
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kevin, maybe you can shed somw light has how to get the php4apache.dll to load into apache a startup, see my earlier post. Yes I have placed all the necesary dlls where they belong as php runs fine in cgi mode but when I comment out the ScriptAlias lines and put in the LoadModule apache can't start stating that it can't load the dll
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  18. #18
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If anyone is interested I did get the php4apache.dll to load in apache and am successfully running php as a module on windows. If anyone wants to know how check out

    http://shanx.com/php/install_win32.txt
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I'm a bit late to this thread. I have it working very well and have never had any problems getting the Apache Module to work under windows, building it is a different issue though. The best distro site for PHP and Windows is http://www.php4win.de
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  20. #20
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cos.. I could be completely wrong
    as apparantly I am !!!!

    doh

  21. #21
    chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    6,455
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    same here


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •