SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    What a twist! Kings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PM popup not working

    When you have a new PM, you get a popup about it when you visit the mainpage. It asks you to open it in a new window. When clicking Ok, nothing happens though. Possible bug?

    I'm using Mozilla Firebird 0.6.1 on Windows XP Professional.
    Dennis Pallett - NoCertainty - My Personal Weblog
    The Web Network: ASPit | PHPit | WebDev-Articles
    Blogs: TalkFones | Holidayzer | PHPit Blog

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    4,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I've experienced a mildly similar problem: the popup doesn't appear at all. It's a problem, 'cause it means I have to check my inbox manually.

    Compuwhiz7

  3. #3
    What a twist! Kings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by compuwhiz7
    Hi,

    I've experienced a mildly similar problem: the popup doesn't appear at all. It's a problem, 'cause it means I have to check my inbox manually.

    Compuwhiz7
    Have you enabled it in your User CP?

    It's under Options, called "Pop up a box when you receive a Private Message?".
    Dennis Pallett - NoCertainty - My Personal Weblog
    The Web Network: ASPit | PHPit | WebDev-Articles
    Blogs: TalkFones | Holidayzer | PHPit Blog

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    4,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,


    Yep... PM popup enabled. Good thought, though.

    Compuwhiz7

  5. #5
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to go into Firebird's Options Dialog. Under Web Features there is a box to pre-approve websites for popups. Put www.sitepointforums.com in the box and the popups will work here.

    Alternatively, you can click on the blue exclamation point that appears in the statusbar when a popup is supposed to appear and approve the site at that time.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  6. #6
    What a twist! Kings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, I've done that. It should probably work now. Can't really test it.

    Thanks for your help.
    Dennis Pallett - NoCertainty - My Personal Weblog
    The Web Network: ASPit | PHPit | WebDev-Articles
    Blogs: TalkFones | Holidayzer | PHPit Blog

  7. #7
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kings
    Okay, I've done that. It should probably work now. Can't really test it.
    I can send you a PM

  8. #8
    What a twist! Kings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jofa
    I can send you a PM
    Heh, yeah, it's working now. Thanks!

    (BTW, giving you rep for the PM... )

    edit: If I could atleast,
    You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to jofa again.
    Dennis Pallett - NoCertainty - My Personal Weblog
    The Web Network: ASPit | PHPit | WebDev-Articles
    Blogs: TalkFones | Holidayzer | PHPit Blog

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    4,095
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,

    Eh, my PM popup is working again. It turned out that I was preempting the popup by going to the PM page in the User CP.

    Compuwhiz7

  10. #10
    What a twist! Kings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    954
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by compuwhiz7
    Hello,

    Eh, my PM popup is working again. It turned out that I was preempting the popup by going to the PM page in the User CP.

    Compuwhiz7
    Dennis Pallett - NoCertainty - My Personal Weblog
    The Web Network: ASPit | PHPit | WebDev-Articles
    Blogs: TalkFones | Holidayzer | PHPit Blog


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •