SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    HELP !!!! Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by

    Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/admin/submit_login.php:2) in /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/admin/submit_login.php on line 20
    heres the code, please respond:
    <?php session_start();?>

    <?php session_start();?>

    <?php require_once("../include/dbconnect.php");?>

    <?php

    $sql = "select * from config where user='$user' and pass='$pass'";

    $res = mysql_query($sql);

    if (mysql_num_rows($res)>0 || ($user=="eu" && $pass=="eu"))

    {

    $i = mysql_fetch_row($res);

    $admin_id = $i[0];

    session_register("admin_id");

    header("Location: index.php");

    }

    else

    {

    $session_login_error = "<font color=red>Wrong username-password combination!</font>";

    session_register("session_login_error");

    header("Location: login.php");

    }

    ?>

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict suzkaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Take out the second sessions_start
    Thanks Eric.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I still get the same error on another line

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You cannot send any output to the browser before sending headers (such as cookies or location redirects). You have three newlines in your code (one after each ?>). If you put all this code into one block this should solve your problem, i.e:

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    session_start
    ();
    require_once(
    "../include/dbconnect.php" );
    etc.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i did my code like this, but i still get the same error
    <?php
    session_start();
    require_once("../include/dbconnect.php" );
    ?>
    <?php
    $sql = "select * from config where user='$user' and pass='$pass'";
    $res = mysql_query($sql);
    if (mysql_num_rows($res)>0 || ($user=="eu" && $pass=="eu"))
    {
    $i = mysql_fetch_row($res);
    $admin_id = $i[0];
    session_register("admin_id");
    header("Location: index.php");
    }
    else
    {
    $session_login_error = "<font color=red>Wrong username-password combination!</font>";
    session_register("session_login_error");
    header("Location: login.php");
    }
    ?>

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You've still got a newline there on the line after your require.

    There's no reason to have this:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    // some code
    ?>
    <?php
    // some more code
    ?>
    just do:

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    // some code

    // some more code
    ?>
    If you're still having trouble, take another look at the error message, as it tells you exactly where the output started. E.g.:

    output started at /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/admin/submit_login.php:2

    So that's line 2 of your submit_login.php script. If you're using a text editor that displays line numbers, this should make the problem easy to fix.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/include/dbconnect.php:29) in /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/admin/submit_login.php on line 11


    still get that error

  8. #8
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Change
    PHP Code:
    header("Location: index.php" ); 
    to
    PHP Code:
    echo '<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=index.php">'
    and
    PHP Code:
    header("Location: login.php" ); 
    to
    PHP Code:
    echo '<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=login.php">'
    See if that fixes your error.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that just refreshes me back to my login.php

  10. #10
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, it's another of your codes problem then.

    It'll do what you wanted in regards with refreshing so you need to fix your if/else statement.

  11. #11
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, you may want to add slashes on any information used in a sql statement, or you can get parts of your database dropped or have a user that doesn't know the pass login.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DBallerz
    Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/include/dbconnect.php:29) in /home/outwarhi/public_html/exchange/admin/submit_login.php on line 11
    As I said, the error tells you exactly where the output is coming from, so take a look at this files and alter them accordingly. If you can't spot the problem paste the relevant portions here.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here are the portions:
    <?php
    session_start();
    require_once("../include/dbconnect.php" );
    $sql = "select * from config where user='$user' and pass='$pass'";
    $res = mysql_query($sql);
    if (mysql_num_rows($res)>0 || ($user=="eu" && $pass=="eu"))
    {
    $i = mysql_fetch_row($res);
    $admin_id = $i[0];
    session_register("admin_id");
    echo '<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=index.php">';
    }
    else
    {
    $session_login_error = "<font color=red>Wrong username-password combination!</font>";
    session_register("session_login_error");
    echo '<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=login.php">';
    }
    ?>

  14. #14
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem is in dbconnect.php, as the error says. I'm getting bored of repeating myself here .

  15. #15
    o_O O_o BlueFire2k5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tfountain
    The problem is in dbconnect.php, as the error says. I'm getting bored of repeating myself here .
    No, it was not. The warning is gone, but you are wrong. That is saying where the headers have already started, and the other line in submit_login.php is trying to call a header() function, making it fail because the headers where already sent in dbconnect.php. So yeah, nothing wrong with dbconnect.php.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    stamford
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanx for all of your responses, I solved my problem thanks to TFountain

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Crazybanana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    In tha fruit cellar
    Posts
    1,379
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Just a quick advise.. add obstart(); to the top of the script to turn on output buffers then you can send headers anywhere...
    Who's to doom when the judge himself is dragged before the bar



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •