SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Net Bios

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast sawz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i use zone alarm, a firewall program. it recently
    notified me that it was blocking internet access
    to my computer [NetBIOS Session] [TCP Port3162]

    what is Net Bios?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    NetBIOS is a network protocol, created by Novell (As far as I know) for it's NetWare OS. It is still used in some windows networks now. If someone wants to hack in to your PC they will look for open NetBIOS connections because windows just leaves them lying there.
    Karl Austin :: Profile :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    Business Web Hosting :: Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Call 0800 542 9764 today and ask how we can help your business grow.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast sawz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    any idea why Sprint would want access to my computer?
    there the ones who tried to start the NetBIOS session.

  4. #4
    Hi there! Owen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's probably just the ISP of the hacker/person looking for their files on the network/gamer looking for a place to play/person who made a mistake.

    Owen

  5. #5
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would disable it on TCP/IP. Go into your Network Control panel. Select the TCP/IP protocol bound to your Internet Connection (Dial-Up, DSL, Cable). On there is a tab called NetBios. Uncheck the box and reboot. This will turn NetBios off.

    I can't think of any modern application that need NetBIOS.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  6. #6
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But if we need to connect to a LAN, it should be enabled with IPX, am I correct?
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  7. #7
    Hi there! Owen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since you use ZoneLabs you don't need to do anything. You are completely protected. It's an excellent, and complete, firewall.

    Owen


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •