SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

css - greatest thing since sliced bread?

I've been poking through this forum this morning. Now, I'm pretty new to all this and very excited that I've got my "HTML Utopia" and "Designing with Web Standards" ready to be cracked..but I have some questions. I keep hearing about how:

1. "you can create things in CSS that you can't do with tables"
    2. "the ones that will be afraid are the ones who use the slice function in photoshop" (or something like that)
    3. "CSS sites have a different feel" (something about fluidity??)

So with all this talk about 'how', I'm getting really excited. But I still don't know WHAT. So:

1. WHAT can you create in CSS that you can't create with tables? (I suspect that's a big question, but a brief sketch would be nice)
    2. WHAT about images - can you still slice images into gifs and use them in a CSS layout? If not, how do you get the logos and the cool pics, etc.?
    3. WHAT's different about the feel of sites done in CSS vs. tables? (looking at them, I"m not getting it...NUH!)

Oh, and while I'm in the dark - what the heck is a blog?

Thanks

Toni
    dare to Dream, dare to Be...
    www.eodweb.com

"Of" != "Have" bronze trophy Jeff Lange's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't feel like typing all day, so a blog is a personal web-log. (web-log -> weblog -> blog.)
    Who walks the stairs without a care
    It shoots so high in the sky.
    Bounce up and down just like a clown.
    Everyone knows its Slinky.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TBanks
    1. WHAT can you create in CSS that you can't create with tables? (I suspect that's a big question, but a brief sketch would be nice)