SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict alfie.romeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    239
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE 5 for Mac - Scrollbar Problem

    hello

    I have been creating a drop down menu system using fireworks MX and the javascript it creates. On a PC browser, it's fine. On a mac browser (IE5) the scrollbars want to scroll right across the page and right down when there is nothing else to view. Obviously this doesn't look too pretty! And i'm sure it's got something to do with the .js.

    Has anyone else come across this or maybe know of a fix?

    many thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict alfie.romeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    239
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    anyone ever found this?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot oivaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    does the script states being compatible with IE 5+ on Win and Mac platforms ?

    Maybe the script is not cross browser

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict alfie.romeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    239
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'm not sure, Fireworks MX generates it all. it just says:

    <script language="JavaScript1.2"

  5. #5
    I'll take mine raw silver trophy MikeFoster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    2,560
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Although I don't have a Mac, I've dealt with similar problems. Some things to consider:

    Where are the positioned elements on page load, but 'before' the onload event? That is, do you have hard-coded positions in the CSS? Even tho those elements may get repositioned during the onload event, some browsers will not 're-calc' the scroll bars.

    Just a few quick thoughts.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict alfie.romeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    239
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers mike

    I was having a play with the generated html file (from fireworks) and i kinda found a solution (quite by accident) I moved a piece of javascript (call function) from outside the main table into the top row of the table itself. opened it in a mac browser and bingo!, no scrollbars.

    God only knows why i guess, but it seems to have solved the problem.

    thanks for your reply anyway. i was scratching my head for a few days over this.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •