SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portland, Or
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    can't find the search box

    This is a wip i am working on.
    http://danielamorescalchi.com/testarea2/apd/

    I wan't to find the search box to remove the span for the text "search for"
    search.php doesn't have it. i looked up functions.php & it isn'there
    child of 2014. anyone here familiar w/this could please point me to the correct page?
    thx
    D

  2. #2
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,169
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    It's not in a "widget"?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portland, Or
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nope. but good point, had to go & check.

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,198
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    On line 85 of your style sheet, you have this:

    Code:
    .search-form span {
    display: hidden;
    visibility: none;
    }
    That code is invalid, and your best option is to fix it and leave the text in the HTML. Correct code:

    Code:
    .search-form span {
    display: none;
    visibility: hidden;
    }

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portland, Or
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Ralph that was actually me just shooting around in the dark (no pun intended considering the site) but was actually hoping to find the code directly & remove.
    If I can't i'll use the css you provided and thank you for it!
    D

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist WebMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The function get_search_form(); is called in header.php. Because the form is not in your search.php file, twentyfourteen uses WordPress's built-in search form. You would have to go into the core files to change the html of the search form, which is a very bad idea.

    You could probably override the built-in form by placing the html code you want to use in the search.php file of your child of twentfourteen theme.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portland, Or
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello all. yes saw it was called in at the header. & the search.php itself doesn't have that span. I'd feel fairly safe deleting or deactivating the span alone.
    I'll probab use Ralph's code to deactivate it if i can't find by eod.
    thx all you have a great sunday.
    D


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •