SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: simple scroll

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

simple scroll

I am new at flash and I was wondering how to make a simple scroll bar to scroll text. If someone had a fla example that would also help!

Thanks
    Jordan

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    which version of flash are you using?
    Better-Barter.com
    Logo store full of unique, professional identities
    perfect for you or your client!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mx

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anybody?

Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

I am no flash guru, but if you are using MX than it comes with a scrollbar component. Go to window>components and you will seE it on the list.

Here is how you use it select the text tool in the properties inspecter select dynamic text from the drop down menu.

click on the stage a text field will appear size it to what you want and then click and drag a scroll bar from the components window to the left side of the text field you made it should snap into place on its own.

Thats it all you need now is enough text to make it have to scroll test your movie

Later
    Johnny

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oops,

I meant to the right side of the text field place the scrollbar, my mistake also you can reskin the scroll bar by going into the flash components folder that will be in your library once you have added a scrollbar to the movie.

Sorry for the mistake

Later
    Johnny

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am sorrry.. I cant get it to work.. can you give step by step instructs.. I am very new

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

Ok

1.Select the text tool from the tools, if that is not showing goto window>tools