SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: MSN YET AGAIN

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot Ace Nova's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Im really getting ticked that i just cant connect. I havent been able to for several days.

    IM REALLY TICKED
    Ace Nova
    Football Man
    InternetSprite.Com - Coming Soon!

  2. #2
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Poor baby, can you not get a new ISP?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    557
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may want to get a new ISP
    Seriously.. I would always have a backup ISP.. just in case

  4. #4
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used to use MSN - yuck! I switched to RCN (RCN.com) and it is much better. Never a busy signal, except for a few significant downtimes they had.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MSN Internet Access has been great for me. I have been using them since 1996 or 1997, and have had busy signals only a few times. Of course, it depends on what number you dial in to, but if you are in the right area, you shouldn't have any problems.

    Too bad my phone lines limit me to 26.4k...

  6. #6
    Misfit
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    2,266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by PeterW
    You may want to get a new ISP
    Seriously.. I would always have a backup ISP.. just in case
    This is a very good idea. I always have AV FreeAccess available for me to use when my ISP is either down or I can't connect. I recommend everyone have a backup ISP. That is, if you're addicted to the net and can't stand a few hours without it

  7. #7
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I too have a backup ISP. They cost more than the one I use regularly but are much more reliable.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I could never risk losing my net connection for more than a few hours, so I have the details of 4 (yes that is 4 ) ISPs set up in my Dial Up Networking. They are all free subscription ISPs but with metered call charges, so they're not free. But they're pretty good in an emergency
    I've only had to use them twice though.

  9. #9
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Backdraw of having a dedicated connection (Cable, DSL etc.) is that you can't easily subscribe to multiple ISP's like when using a modem. You'll just have to dig up that old modem you used before you got a broadband connection and go back in time.
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  10. #10
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suppose that you could try setting up an old machine with your modem just in case. I have a fully functional P100 inc ase of emergencies. All I need to do is plug it in, it even has its own monitor. I can tell you I have had to make use of it now and then!

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict jamesglewisf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Big D
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use both MSN and AOL because I travel often. Between the two, I can almost always get a reliable connection anywhere across the U.S. I recommend having a backup.
    Jim Lewis
    To BE or Not to BE, or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barium Enema
    FrappyDoo Forums

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard jumpthru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    I too have a backup ISP. They cost more than the one I use regularly but are much more reliable.
    Why dont you just use the better one then always...

  13. #13
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you seen the prices of Internet connection in the UK?

    I use the cheap one because I pay a low monthly fee and no phone calls. When that one is being funny I use my other one which charges me for telephone calls!

  14. #14
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    Have you seen the prices of Internet connection in the UK?

    I use the cheap one because I pay a low monthly fee and no phone calls. When that one is being funny I use my other one which charges me for telephone calls!
    He probably does, just incase that one went down he could use the other.

  15. #15
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whoops, I meant to quote that text about "why not only use the better one"


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •