SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict ruba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Amman -Jordan
    Posts
    339
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question I can't understand what's happend - please help

    Hi every body

    I am a PHP developer with 10years exp. in development.
    when I open the url "http://localhost/index.php" the website appear without any problem..
    but when I add "/" to the URL "http://localhost/index.php/" the website appear without image ..

    what is the problem ? and how can I solve it..

    also
    I am using iis with PHP
    1- what is the setting to make iis top secure ?
    2- what is the setting to make session & PHP secure ?


    I will be very thanks for any help
    Open Blocked website
    Open Blocked Website
    Knowledge Is Knowing That A Tomato Is A Fruit,
    Wisdom Is Not Putting It In A Fruit Salad.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,633
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using url rewrites?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict ruba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Amman -Jordan
    Posts
    339
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wwb_99 View Post
    Are you using url rewrites?
    No ..
    Open Blocked website
    Open Blocked Website
    Knowledge Is Knowing That A Tomato Is A Fruit,
    Wisdom Is Not Putting It In A Fruit Salad.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,633
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, it would make a bit more sense if you were but there are ways to wire things where this would still work.

    In general, for securing PHP on IIS I would just use the web platform installer's defaults is a great start and typically all one needs to do in most scenarios.

    As for the url problem, the issue is that by adding the trailing slash you have now moved up a folder. So if your url links were relative they are off. If you load up a http debugger like the dev tools in firefox or in chrome that should illustrate it clearly.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict ruba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Amman -Jordan
    Posts
    339
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for ur reply ..

    can you help me to write a rewrite to IIS to remove or ignor slashes from url (to solve this problem) ?

    also my friend try check the website .. he find
    HTTP OPTIONS method is enabled on web server .. how can I make it disable ?
    Open Blocked website
    Open Blocked Website
    Knowledge Is Knowing That A Tomato Is A Fruit,
    Wisdom Is Not Putting It In A Fruit Salad.

  6. #6
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,653
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    ruba,

    WHY would you add a slash to a valid URI? That tells the server that it should look for a directory, not a file. (IMHO, it's a bad technique that some webmasters are trying without understanding the adverse consequences.)

    DON'T add a trailing / unless you're requesting a directory (in which case, servers will usually add the / for you). Remember, you're affecting all the relative links, too, by changing the directory level like this.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •