SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Perth W.A.
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to get to source files with firebug

    Hi,
    The only documentation I can find about Firebug describes how much fun it is to edit your HTML and CSS experimentally.
    What if you have a problem like an errant semicolon you want to remove?
    Sure I can remove it experimentally in firebug, but I only get paid if I remove it for real!
    Can someone please show me how to get to the actual HTML file containing this unwanted artifact?
    Any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Argent View Post
    Can someone please show me how to get to the actual HTML file containing this unwanted artifact?
    If the site is online, you have to go to the actual site files. Firebug is handy for tracing where the problem is.

    I know with Chrome you can edit files directly in the browser, but it's still a developing feature and I assume it only works on local files.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Perth W.A.
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I understand I have to edit the site files on the server. My question is how do I find the relevant file?
    Firefox shows you a multitude of technical options EXCEPT how to find the file which is causing the problem.
    I can can nearly always track down a css file using Firebug as it gives you the file name in the css pane, but getting the relevant html file is a different story.

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Argent View Post
    getting the relevant html file is a different story.
    The HTML file is the page you are viewing (often shown in the browser address bar, such as contact.html). If you are using a CMS, or PHP includes or some other server-side technology to piece the page together, Firebug won't be able to help you with that, as it can only analyse the page as sent to the browser, after the page has been created.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Perth W.A.
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok so I may as well just view source? is there any other way of finding and deleting the unwanted semicolon?

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Argent View Post
    ok so I may as well just view source? is there any other way of finding and deleting the unwanted semicolon?
    I'm still not totally sure what the situation is. Certainly you'll see the semicolon if you view source (that is, in your browser), but still, the only way to remove the offending code is to go to alter the file on the server.

  7. #7
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,187
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Yes, Firebug won't help with server-side files except that it can show context.
    For example, if you see an error in a tag that has a class="whatever" you can search the template files for that string and with luck see what variable/function is involved with it's being dynamically created. - It gets easier with practice.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Perth W.A.
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Guys,
    The issue is, I have an unwanted semicolon http://www.ngurrakujungka.com/home and it's in the news ticker module under the heading Recent Articles. I can easily identify the containing div in firebug, but don't know where to start to find the actual file containing the code.

  9. #9
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Ah yes, tricky. Firebug won't be able to help you there. Looks like you are using a CMS that is building the page for you. So you'll have to dig into the source files to find where that module is being included. Did you insert the code manually, or did the system do it for you?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With a CMS it's unlikely there is any static file involved in creating the page html. You'll probably have to debug some server-side program code that is creating the page html "on the fly".
    Doug G
    =====
    "If you ain't the lead dog, the view is always the same - Anon

  11. #11
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Argent,
    The "Recent Articles" news ticker consists of the first lines of each corresponding article on a separate article page.
    The connection will be made by your CMS (Joomla, I see).

    • So if your wrong semicolon is for instance in the ticker item "Elite Athletes Visit Nullagine and Jigalong", then you stop the ticker over there, and click on the link to the complete article page.
    • In this case: the page ngurrakujungka.com/23-recent-articles/71-elite-athletes-visit-nullagine-and-jigalong
    • You will see the same wrong semicolon in the text of this article page too!
    • What to do? You go in your CMS (admin panel) to this article page, and correct the semicolon over here.
    • After confirming to save the correction, the article page is clean now.
    • Then I guess you've nothing to do more, for the CMS will copy/paste the corrected paragraph into the news ticker automatically.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard webcosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,480
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Simple , if you have the entire site on your computer you just search with dreamweaver for that specific piece of code in the entire folder where the site files are located. DW will open all files containing that code for you to edit. Good luck! ( Ctrl+F in Dreamweaver )


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •