SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    tried upgrade node.js but not succeed,... well?

    tried upgrade node.js but not succeed,... well?

    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    C:\Users\User>node -v
    v0.8.16
    
    C:\Users\User>npm cache clean -f
    
    C:\Users\User>npm install -g n
    npm http GET https://registry.npmjs.org/n
    npm http 200 https://registry.npmjs.org/n
    npm http GET https://registry.npmjs.org/n/-/n-1.2.1.tgz
    npm http 200 https://registry.npmjs.org/n/-/n-1.2.1.tgz
    C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\n -> C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_mo
    dules\n\bin\n
    n@1.2.1 C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\n
    
    C:\Users\User>n stable
    'bash' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    
    C:\Users\User>cd C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\n
    
    C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\n>n stable
    'bash' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    
    C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\n>

  2. #2
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,938
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Hi there,

    I'm not overly familiar with node.js, so I don't know how much I'll be able to help, but anyway:

    Code:
    'bash' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
    bash is a Unix shell and your path indicates that you are on windows.

    This means that normally, to run bash you'd need to install cygwin, then make sure cygwin’s bin path is added to your $PATH environment variable.

    Could you check if this is the case on your machine?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use win 7 OS... you mean command are correct ... but missing this you say?

  4. #4
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,938
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    I mean that node is trying to execute bash and not finding it.

    What is in your $PATH environment variable?

  5. #5
    Community Advisor bronze trophy
    fretburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,397
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lse123 View Post
    I use win 7 OS... you mean command are correct ... but missing this you say?
    As far as I know, to upgrade a Windows installation of Node, you can just download and run the latest installer from the website. I've gone a quick Google search and it's not clear whether the n module works on windows or not.. I know there are some modules which are Mac/Linux only.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    in case needed uninstall after reinstall node.js new edition?

    my path is win 7:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\User>set path
    Path=C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Windows\system32;
    C:\Windows;C:\Windows\system32\wbem;C:\Apache-Subversion-1.7.8\bin;C:\Windows\Sy
    stem32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;c:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\HP ProtectT
    ools Security Manager\Bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Services\IPT;C:\Program F
    iles\Java\jdk1.6.0_33\bin;%ANT_JAVA%\bin;C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Android\and
    roid-sdk\platform-tools;C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk\tools;C:
    \Program Files (x86)\QuickTime\QTSystem;C:\Program Files (x86)\nodejs;C:\Program
    Files (x86)\Git\cmd;C:\Python27;C:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\a
    pache-ant-1.9.2-bin\apache-ant-1.9.2\bin;%ANT_HOME%\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\J
    ava\jre7\bin;C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\npm\;"C:\Program Files\BlackBerry\BB1
    0 WebWorks SDK 2.0.0.54"
    PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC

    C:\Users\User>

  7. #7
    Community Advisor bronze trophy
    fretburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,397
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lse123 View Post
    in case needed uninstall after reinstall node.js new edition?
    No, installing a new version should overwrite the old one.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how know what used exe or zip to re-install it in win 7 without uninstall?

    Apps localhost remain untouched and should work if re-install it in win 7 without uninstall?

  9. #9
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,938
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    I would just use the normal Windows installer

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I HAVE TO CHOOSE INSTALLATION DIR THE OLD DIR to replace? can have two nodejs installs one in Program Files/nodejs and another in Program Files (x86)/nodejs? the fact that nodejs installed in Program Files (x86)/nodejs the "(x86)" do any problem in upgrade (not reinstall)??

  11. #11
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,938
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    I would just overwrite one with the other.
    Two competing installations of the same program is never a good idea (in these cases you normally need some kind of version manager).

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the fact that nodejs installed in /Program Files (x86)/nodejs/ the "(x86)" do any problem in upgrade (not reinstall UPGRADE VIA CLI)??

  13. #13
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,938
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    As I said in my first post, I'm not overly familaiar with node.js and I'm also running Linux, so maybe I'm not the best person to advise you.
    @fretburner ; any ideas?

  14. #14
    Community Advisor bronze trophy
    fretburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,397
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lse123 View Post
    the fact that nodejs installed in /Program Files (x86)/nodejs/ the "(x86)" do any problem in upgrade (not reinstall UPGRADE VIA CLI)??
    If your existing Node install is in \Program Files (x86)\nodejs then you can install a later x86 version over the top. However, if you want to upgrade to the 64-bit version, I'd recommend uninstalling your existing version first and install the new one under \Program Files, as that's the proper location for 64-bit programs.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •