SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Text box does not show Japanese Yen properly.

    Hey guys,
    most likely someone already dealt with this problem, I am working on Classic ASP app which exists for some time by now.
    Recently we got complains from Japanese clients of ours that app does not show Currency symbol for Yen.
    On top of that ASCII for yen is the same as Japanese keyboard key for "\", which we resolved, seems that text area and HTML show Yen without any problem but as soon as data hit regular text box - problem starts.
    Regular text boxes show straight forward "\" on front of the number instead of Yen char.
    Any idea what need to be done to fix this?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,629
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you looked at/used the Response.Charset method?

    Look also at the enctype attribute of the HTML form.
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks siteguru,
    As I said earlier in my original post: HTML body and even input like textarea do display symbols correctly but within body I also have couple text boxes inputs.
    Those guys do not show Yen symbols, instead textboxes show either "\" or "¥" or "& # 165 ;", depending of what we use, on front of value.

  4. #4
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,267
    Mentioned
    116 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Does the font-family you're using in the text boxes include the yen symbol?
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good question.
    How can I check that?
    Text boxes got formed dynamically via loop depend on what,how and from where has been purchased by visitor...

  6. #6
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,267
    Mentioned
    116 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexsts2010 View Post
    Text boxes got formed dynamically via loop depend on what,how and from where has been purchased by visitor...
    What font is used to display the text box? If you don't know, use the developer tool in the browser of your choice to find which font it's being displayed with.

    If it's a standard font, follow the instructions here: http://www.myfonts.com/Article8099.html
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That kind of confuses the issue.
    I would agree that font is important but not when you try to display ASCII chars like "& # 165;" - it should not matter which font is in use.
    Unless text box have some kind of property I never used before.
    Plus considering fact that client system locale: Japan (LCID=1041) and all regional settings appropriate for that locale including language, keyboard settings and fonts.

  8. #8
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,267
    Mentioned
    116 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I guess I'm just confused - I would have to see a link to see what you're talking about.
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can provide screen shots but link to private network - I hope you do understand it is out of the question.
    This application is browser based but it is working without actual access to internet - intranet onlyyen.png.
    What you see is a part of the screen, above it HTML body for confirmation of the purchase. Yen there just fine, but in text boxes you see double "\\" on front of the payment amount. That is the issue.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So no ideas?
    I would of guess that it have something to do with local system settings and some of the registry get messed up.
    Just need help to figure out which one...

  11. #11
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,185
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    If not a link, can you post (just) enough HTML and CSS for others to get an idea of what might be happening?


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •