SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lightbulb New Project - Should I stick with Classic ASP?

Hello Forum,

I just signed up literally 10 minutes ago and look forward to utilizing this site, thanks in advance for all the feedback!

I have a new project that is in the requirements gathering stage and am considering what scripting language to use. Although I do have a limited amount of experience with C++...from back in school at IU Bloomington, I must say that the only real-life coding experience I have is with classic ASP, specifically vbscript. I've been coding with this for about the last 10 years and am a little apprehensive about learning a new language, however, I'm looking into what the benefits of languages like PHP/Ruby Or even upgrading to .NET ...if it were to be .NET...would you recommend sticking with vb script or would I need to learn c#...to be honest I learned classic asp in an entry-level tech position with a large IT Consulting firm right out of college but left about 6 months later to create a proprietary app and I have been reselling it ever since. The app is basically a point-of-sale app geared to a particular retail industry and has a SQL Server 2005 db..but i'm not married to that db...I do however know that I want to incorporate a ton of AJAX & integration with third-party sites into the new app. with a big focus on the UI.

Please advise as to what the benefits/drawbacks are to sticking with classic asp..or moving onto some other language. Further any constructive feedback as I have had classic asp blinders on for what seems like forever and have been essentially out of the emerging tech. game since college and feel kind of lost going through the articles in such...thanks again

-Chicago Rich

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're happy with Classic ASP then you'd likely prefer to move to ASP.NET.