SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    w3c validator errors

    I 'm having trouble understanding what kind of error the validator is generating. I tried to google my problem but it seems that i can't find any result.

    Here is the error. I'm not really sure what it means.

    Bad value http://digitalspin.ph/federalland/wp-content/themes/Federal Land/css/1218.css for attribute href on element link: Whitespace in path component. Use %20 in place of spaces.

    Here is the link for the website: http://digitalspin.ph/federalland/
    Last edited by Mittineague; Jan 16, 2014 at 08:32.

  2. #2
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,806
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    The error is the space between the words Federal and Land
    Code:
    …nd/wp-content/themes/Federal Land/js/flexslider/jquery.flexslider.js"
    it is suggesting that you use %20 instead of the space as it will then validate.
    Personally I try and avoid space in filenames/paths/folders etc

    Code:
    …nd/wp-content/themes/Federal%20Land/js/flexslider/jquery.flexslider.js"
    would work
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh man thanks, the error was a bit vague or for me technical and i really have no idea what was wrong.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now i have another problem. I renamed the name of my Theme Folder "Federalland" with no spaces in wordpress and the website appears blank when i visit it. I even tried updating the permalink but it only appears blank

  5. #5
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,806
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Seems to be back online now
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just reverted it back to Federal Land w/ space. Hmmmm not sure what seems to be the problem.

  7. #7
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,806
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    You could just do a global replace of the space with the %20 code, then you dont need to change anything in your paths.
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by spikeZ View Post
    You could just do a global replace of the space with the %20 code, then you dont need to change anything in your paths.
    Hmm how can i do that? This is what my code looks like in the header
    Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/css/1218.css" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php bloginfo("stylesheet_url") ?>"/>
    
    <!--JQUERY -->
    <script type="text/javascript" src="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/js/jquery-1.10.1.min.js"></script>
    
    <!--JQUERY UI -->
    <script src="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/js/jquery-ui.js"></script>

  9. #9
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It is the value being returned from the bloginfo('template_url') call so presumably the actual URL only appears in one spot - so once you fid that spot it will be easy to fix..
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Might have trouble finding it but thanks for your insights..

  11. #11
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,806
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Probably found in Settings > general as the root url for your template folder
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Managed to fix. Basically once i renamed the folder name of the theme with no spaces, i just had to activate the theme again, update the permalink and fix the navigation.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •