SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot eLePHANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    RI, USA
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Building a New WP Site on Top of an Existing Static Site?

    If I want to take an existing static website of mine and update it to a Wordpress one... and keep the old site by linking to it from the new one what would I do? I don't need the old site, but I want to keep it just to view. You sometimes see people do that. They'll link to it like this "Old Site." It is the same domain.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,112
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    You could place it in a subdomain of the site (e.g. legacy.mysite.com) or place the old site in a subfolder of the new site (although you might have to update a lot of links then).
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot eLePHANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    RI, USA
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You could place it in a subdomain of the site (e.g. legacy.mysite.com)
    Hey ralph--thank you, man. I'll definitely go the subdomain route. I don't want to have to update links. It looks like hostgator has some directions here on how to do that.

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,112
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Yep, CPanel makes it really easy to set up a subdomain. It literally takes less that a minute.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot eLePHANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    RI, USA
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Yep, CPanel makes it really easy to set up a subdomain. It literally takes less that a minute.
    Hey ralph. I forgot to ask you. I haven't gone ahead with this just yet. Before I do, I should ask... what about moving the files? Don't I have to do that? Do I select all files under "public_html" and then just paste into the new subdomain folder?

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,112
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by eLePHANT View Post
    what about moving the files? Don't I have to do that? Do I select all files under "public_html" and then just paste into the new subdomain folder?
    Yep, you will have to move the files to the new location. In terms of how to do it, even though you see a subfolder for the subdomain within your site's files, I never access it there. In my FTP client, I set up a new account just for the subdomain—so it's like setting up a separate account for any website. It has its own login details (although username and password may just be the same as for the main site.) You can see from this screen shot that it's mostly the same as for your main site, except for the Root URL and Remote Path:

    subdomain.png

    Then, when you open that account in your FTP client, you are just looking at a regular root folder, just like with any other site, and you upload your files there.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot eLePHANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    RI, USA
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you, ralph. I completed these tasks tonight. I'm reading the book Digging Into Wordpress. It's a bit more intermediate than beginner. Was a much different install than what I'd done in the past. It's more secure and less clutterly.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •