SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Video img overlay on Firefox

    I am trying to set an image overlay with my video using html5 code. Well the overlay shows up great in all browsers but Firefox, The issue I am having is the video overlay is showing above the actual play button when viewed in firefox.

    Is there anyway to have the image over lay not show up when the visitor is using Firefox, but it does show up when they are on other browsers?

    Here is what it looks like on Firefox.

    screen.png
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,614
    Mentioned
    413 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by laflair13 View Post
    Is there anyway to have the image over lay not show up when the visitor is using Firefox ...
    No, it's better to fix the problem with Firefox. We'll need to see the page to help with that, though.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is the page where it is happening.

    Code:
    https://www.pmxusercon.com/
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  4. #4
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,380
    Mentioned
    215 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Which version of Firefox?

    In FF 25.0.1 on Ubuntu, I see this:

    pmx-firefox.png

    Clicking the image starts the video.

    In Chromium (and Epiphany) I see this:

    pmx-chromium.png

    Clicking the image doesn't do anything.
    Don't be arrogant. Be kind to a koala that thinks it's a bear.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am running 25.0.1 of firefox. And I had to move the file so it didnt interfere with traffic.

    Code:
    https://www.pmxusercon.com/video-test.php
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, Firefox wont play the video when I use the OnClick . Here is the codes I am using.

    JS
    Code:
    <script src="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.1/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="//ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.10.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <link href="videos/video-js.css" rel="stylesheet">
    <script type="text/javascript">var video = document.getElementById('video');
    video.addEventListener('click',function(){
    video.play();
    },false);</script>
    Video Code
    Code:
    <video controls preload="none" width="958" height="538" style="outline:none" 
      poster="https://www.pmxusercon.com/img/video-overlay.jpg">
     <source src="https://www.pmxusercon.com/videos/PMX2013Video.mp4" type="video/mp4">
      <source src="https://www.pmxusercon.com/videos/PMX2013Video.webm" type="video/webm">
    </video>
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,614
    Mentioned
    413 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    I've tried to visit your site several times, but it just won't load for me.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its coming up good for me and a buddy in WA state.
    Thanks In Advance

    David

  9. #9
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,380
    Mentioned
    215 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    I'm (briefly) using Windows 7. Using the link in post #5, FF25.0.1 shows the double image, but plays the video when the smaller image is clicked. Chrome, Opera and IE11 all show the larger image only and the video cannot be started by clicking on this.

    This doesn't seem to be the behaviour you're reporting or expecting, but perhaps I've misunderstood you?
    Don't be arrogant. Be kind to a koala that thinks it's a bear.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru laflair13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its because I have tested and tried many things to get it to work and I just left it at that. I think I am just going to use JWPlayer so I know it will work.
    Thanks In Advance

    David


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •