SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 66
  1. #26
    SitePoint Enthusiast mackyanderson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by guido2004 View Post
    So have mine. Don't they all?
    Sad to say not every laptop have their keyboard within, most especially if it is an old version.
    FACEBOOK | GOOGLE+ | TWITTER
    Los Angeles Injury Attorneys
    "Effective Lawyering and Proven Results"

  2. #27
    Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Shaun(OfTheDead)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trinidad
    Posts
    3,746
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The ones I was born with!

    *buh dum ching!*
    Trying to fill the unforgiving minute
    with sixty seconds' worth of distance run.

    Update on Sitepoint's Migration to Discourse

  3. #28
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Chandigarh
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello everyone,

    I want to buy a laptop, but I am totally confused. Please suggest about brand and specification.

  4. #29
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    am using DELL inspiron n 5040
    is one of the good model but the problem i ever face is nothing but HEATING, in summer i cant even use it more than 2 hours
    along with this its bigger size i never appreciate, expect these flaws its best for me

  5. #30
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,357
    Mentioned
    268 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by alisha2231 View Post
    is one of the good model but the problem i ever face is nothing but HEATING, in summer i cant even use it more than 2 hours
    Have you tried using a laptop cooler? You can get one quite cheaply.

  6. #31

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    London
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using Lenovo 3000 G430 "OS" Window 7, and HP Pavilion 15-E015TX Laptop "Os" Window 8

  7. #32
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have used Dell Desktop and Laptop I'm using is Lenovo and Sony. Experience with Lenovo is Good. Although the Sony laptop is have is 64 byte Windows 8 and Lenovo is 32 byte which is an Old one. So obviously the difference is there while using both.
    Experience with Dell Desktop was very good and I have never used the laptop but it doesn't seems good to me.

  8. #33
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using an Asus k53e 640 and I'm more than happy with it. The fastest and most reliable PC I've ever owned. I'm definitely going to buy Asus again, even if it isn't the most popular brand: http://www.statista.com/statistics/2...d-preferences/

    I had a Dell XPS laptop before but it constantly overheated - I had nothing but problems with it. Glad I made a switch and I won't be in a rush to buy a Dell product again.

  9. #34
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi i am using DELL laptop. i3 processor .

  10. #35
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i have icore5 it is made by HP, It is a light weighted and very beautifully designed laptop. It is a speedy machine.

  11. #36
    SitePoint Guru dojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    899
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A 17.3 inches Lenovo. Am not too interested in the brand, when I shop for a laptop I look under 'the hood' and for a good price.

  12. #37
    SitePoint Member thefasninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Lahore
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using Dell old series but its working fine

  13. #38
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Macbook Air and Macbook Pro at home... and also a Samsung in office....
    Good work

  14. #39
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Crazybanana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    In tha fruit cellar
    Posts
    1,379
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    we have two Asus and two Acer i5 & i7 from 8 to 16gb ram running win 7 & win 8.
    Who's to doom when the judge himself is dragged before the bar


  15. #40
    Avid Logophile silver trophy
    ParkinT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,343
    Mentioned
    192 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    I am plugged in DIRECTLY through a High Speed Neural Interface.
    Don't be yourself. Be someone a little nicer. -Mignon McLaughlin, journalist and author (1913-1983)


    Git is for EVERYONE
    Literally, the best app for readers.
    Make Your P@ssw0rd Secure
    Leveraging SubDomains

  16. #41
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,357
    Mentioned
    268 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ParkinT View Post
    I am plugged in DIRECTLY through a High Speed Neural Interface.
    That explains a great deal ...

  17. #42
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In 18 days I'm getting the Macbook Pro

    15-inch: 2.3GHz
    with Retina display
    Specifications

    2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz
    16GB 1600MHz memory
    512GB PCIe-based flash storage 1
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
    with 2GB GDDR5 memory
    Built-in battery (8 hours)2

    $2,599.00

    I would of considered the Mac Air if it was 15 inch. I have probably wasted in excess of 1000 hours over the last 11 years staring at my XP spinning its wheels. Im very much looking forward to some serious multitasking. At first I was leaning towards a window machine so I could keep all my adobe programs. But in the end I decided there are plenty of free and inexpensive alternatives like gimp and pixelmator and coda 2 and etc.

  18. #43
    Mazel tov! bronze trophy kohoutek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4,248
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a retina Macbook Pro (same specs as PicnicTutorials). It's a fine machine but the battery life is a joke.

    I still use my old 2007 Mac Pro desktop for most things. It's not noticeably slower and still a powerhouse.
    Maleika E. A. | Rockatee | Twitter | Dribbble



  19. #44
    Avid Logophile silver trophy
    ParkinT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,343
    Mentioned
    192 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by PicnicTutorials View Post
    ...I have probably wasted in excess of 1000 hours over the last 11 years staring at my XP spinning its wheels. Im very much looking forward to some serious multitasking. At first I was leaning towards a window machine so I could keep all my adobe programs. But in the end I decided there are plenty of free and inexpensive alternatives like gimp and pixelmator and coda 2 and etc.
    @PicnicTutorials ;, I agree. After switching to a Mac I am astonished at how my attitude has changed regarding my computer. In many respects the Mac is just "an appliance"; I turn it on, it does what I expect, I turn it off.
    With the Windows machine(s) there was the constant tinkering and the 'worry' that something would fail. With the most recent versions of Windows (sorry to pick on Microsoft) it seems the machine is CONSTANTLY applying updates; which forces you to W A I T for the machine to shutdown.

    Regarding the few crucial applications that run on Windows, I have a VMWare machine for several different 'flavors' of Windows and it runs perfectly on my Mac.
    Don't be yourself. Be someone a little nicer. -Mignon McLaughlin, journalist and author (1913-1983)


    Git is for EVERYONE
    Literally, the best app for readers.
    Make Your P@ssw0rd Secure
    Leveraging SubDomains

  20. #45
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Acer Aspire 5742 its display blinks sometimes, not able to identify the problem yet....

  21. #46
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dell is a brand for me durability and reliability of dell well and hard is solid and well in services

  22. #47
    SitePoint Member anshgujral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes i have a Dell Inspiron 14R. i am very happy with this.

  23. #48
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy asp_funda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    ether
    Posts
    4,497
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dell XPS 15inch - almost 3yrs old - my main workhorse and Macbook Pro 13inch.

    Yeah I switch b/w Windows 7 and OSX a lot and no it doesn't bother me (now).

    Quote Originally Posted by ParkinT View Post
    With the Windows machine(s) there was the constant tinkering and the 'worry' that something would fail.
    And that worry is not present when tinkering with OSX? Its intelligent enough to self-heal and recover from any accidental mishaps?

    Quote Originally Posted by ParkinT View Post
    With the most recent versions of Windows (sorry to pick on Microsoft) it seems the machine is CONSTANTLY applying updates; which forces you to W A I T for the machine to shutdown.


    Some (a lot of actually) people would say thats a good thing that Microsoft is pro-active in updating and improving its product and doesn't do it only when *it* hits the fan! But even then, yes I agree it can be annoying when you're working and you get a notice that Windows needs to reboot to apply some patch. Which is why I keep my Windows Update on the download mode, it downloads any updates etc in background and lets me know that they're available but doesn't install them automatically. This way when I'm done with my work or as soon as I have few minutes to spare I install the (already downloaded) updates myself with the click of a button. If anything goes wrong with any update then its just a simple matter of system restore (again with a couple of clicks).

    I do the same with my MBP, I install updates when I have time, it doesn't do it on its own, and some updates there also need a system reboot.
    Our lives teach us who we are.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Me - Photo Blog - Personal Blog - Dev Blog
    iG:Syntax Hiliter -- Colourize your code in WordPress!!

  24. #49

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, used laptop Accer.

  25. #50
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hp core i3


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •