SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Create Up/Down Triangle for Sorting?

    Is there a way to make a Triangle Symbol pointing Up and Down, respectively?

    I want these to use next to a Column Heading for sorting purposes...

    Thanks,


    Debbie

  2. #2
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,889
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    A quick search for "css triangles" and Bingo, over a million results.

    This one was top of the list:


    http://css-tricks.com/snippets/css/css-triangle/


    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    Is there a way to make a Triangle Symbol pointing Up and Down, respectively?

    I want these to use next to a Column Heading for sorting purposes...

    Thanks,


    Debbie
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Wolfshade on earning Member of the Month for August 2014

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    A quick search for "css triangles" and Bingo, over a million results.

    This one was top of the list:


    http://css-tricks.com/snippets/css/css-triangle/
    I already saw that, BUT I asked this question in the HTML Forum because I thought there might be an HTML symbol I could use - like the ampersand...


    Your suggestion sure seems like a lot of code and effort for just a triangle.

    Plus, I need my PHP code to be able to *easily* toggle between an Up Triangle and Down Triangle, and I'm not sure how I'd do that with your CSS suggestion...

    Sincerely,


    Debbie

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    You could use unicode characters ▲ and ▼ if you like. If your pages are served as UTF-8 you can just copy chose characters and insert them. Otherwise, use the character references ▲ and ▼ or ▲ and ▼ respectively.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You could use unicode characters ▲ and ▼ if you like.
    Those are exactly the characters that I was looking for!


    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    If your pages are served as UTF-8 you can just copy chose characters and insert them.
    How would I know that??


    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Otherwise, use the character references ▲ and ▼ or ▲ and ▼ respectively.
    What are all of those characters?

    Sincerely,


    Debbie

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    How would I know that?
    You can check the encoding that your server is sending out in your browser's dev tools. For example, in the Network panel of the Chrome dev tools, click on the page and you'll see your resosponse headers, which will include something like this:

    Code:
    Content-Type:text/html; charset=UTF-8
    What are all of those characters?
    They are the Unicode references for those characters. So, paste ▲ into a .html file and open it in your browser and you'll see the up arrow:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    </head>
    <body>
    
    <p>&#9650;</p>
    			
    </body>
    </html>

  7. #7
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,889
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    I already saw that, BUT I asked this question in the HTML Forum because I thought there might be an HTML symbol I could use - like the ampersand...


    Your suggestion sure seems like a lot of code and effort for just a triangle.

    Plus, I need my PHP code to be able to *easily* toggle between an Up Triangle and Down Triangle, and I'm not sure how I'd do that with your CSS suggestion...

    Sincerely,


    Debbie
    Here we go:

    PHP Code:
    <?php
      $title
    ='Toggle Up and Down Arrows';
      if( ! isset(
    $_SESSION) ):
        
    session_start();
      endif;
      
    $_SESSION['toggle'] = isset($_SESSION['toggle'] ) ?  $_SESSION['toggle']  : FALSE;
      
    $_SESSION['toggle'] = ! $_SESSION['toggle'] ;
      
    $toggle     $_SESSION['toggle']  ? ''  :  '';
      
    $direction $_SESSION['toggle']  ? 'UP'  :  'DOWN';
    ?><!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" 
      "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"  lang="en" xml:lang="en">
    <head>
      <title><?=$title;?></title>
      <style type='text/css'>
     .invert {
        -webkit-transform: rotate(90deg);   
        -moz-transform: rotate(90deg);
        -ms-transform: rotate(90deg);
        -o-transform: rotate(90deg);
        transform: rotate(90deg);
        display:inline-block;
    }
    a {text-decoration:none; padding:0.22em 0.42em;}
    a:hover {background-color: pink;}
    </style>
    </head>
    <body>
      <h1>
        <a href="/index.php" title='going <?=$direction;?>'>
           <b class='invert'>
                <?=$toggle ;?>
          </b>        
          <?=$title;?>
        </a>
      </h1>
    </body>
    </html>
    Special Note - Version 001:
    This has been tried, tested and works fine. No doubt it can be optimised if and only if there is sufficient viewers to warrant changes
    Otherwise, next problem please
    Last edited by John_Betong; Nov 10, 2013 at 01:38. Reason: spelling: not my fortay
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Wolfshade on earning Member of the Month for August 2014

  8. #8
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,051
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    If you want to do it dynamically (i.e. without reloading the page), you'll have to use JavaScript to toggle between them.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    A lot of special characters!

    I've just a small presumption that the up/down's are for sorting of a list (as the title of this topic says).
    In that case the down or up will be triggered by an onclick (triggering also the sorting), and is waiting for another click to toggle upside down again. So indeed javascript will be the most efficient way, I think.
    • In case only a hover-state is needed (for a dropdown menu or something like that), css is sufficient for the change.

    @John_Betong: Next problem please? - Can I Use transform - not for IE8 and before ...

    =======
    More special characters
    For who is wondering if there are more of these special characters: yes! There are lists with ten thousands of it (see here or here).
    They cover also all non-Latin alphabets, like Greek, Braille, Chinese, Cyrillian etc. etc.; and mathematic characters, figures, etc.etc.
    For instance:
    The & #931; (without space): Σ
    The & #10283; (without space):
    The & #20001; (without space):
    The & #1049; (without space): Й
    The & #1769; (without space): ۩
    The & #8800; (without space):
    The & #1792; (without space): ܀
    The & #3664; (without space):
    The & #9733; (without space):
    The & #9658; (without space):
    The & #9668; (without space):
    The & #10048; (without space):
    The & #10053; (without space):
    The & #10163; (without space):
    The & #10705; (without space):
    The & #11027; (without space): especially made for the followers of the GR's .

    • With the "font"-size they can be adapted to smaller or bigger.
    • The UTF-8 charset is always safe.
    • Some characters aren't always displayable: they need a special country/language setting of the computer, or special fonts, or maybe something else.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You can check the encoding that your server is sending out in your browser's dev tools. For example, in the Network panel of the Chrome dev tools, click on the page and you'll see your resosponse headers, which will include something like this:

    Code:
    Content-Type:text/html; charset=UTF-8
    I opened up FireBug on this page, and looked at the HTML, and saw this...
    HTML Code:
    <head>
    <meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" http-equiv="Content-Type">
    So I guess that means that SitePoint is not being displayed as UTF-8 in my browser??


    I am not understanding how you are supposed to dictate how a page is displayed...

    Do you set this on the Server?

    Or is this something dealing with each webpage?

    Or is this an issue with my browser? (Because I obviously didn't code SitePoint's website!!)


    Right now I'm on my old MacBook and using MAMP.

    But what happens when I upload my code to my VPS?

    This part of the conversation is new to me and not making any sense...

    Sincerely,


    Debbie

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pullo View Post
    If you want to do it dynamically (i.e. without reloading the page), you'll have to use JavaScript to toggle between them.
    I thought I established this in the past...

    No JavaScript!!!


    Debbie

  12. #12
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,889
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    I thought I established this in the past...

    No JavaScript!!!


    Debbie
    Try this:

    http://www.johns-jokes.com/downloads...edee/index.php

    No JavaScript and simplified CSS so inverse not required.
    Last edited by John_Betong; Nov 10, 2013 at 12:56. Reason: spelling: not my fortay
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Wolfshade on earning Member of the Month for August 2014

  13. #13
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,051
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    I thought I established this in the past...

    No JavaScript!!!
    Oh ok, I didn't realise.
    Just out of interest: why not?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pullo View Post
    Oh ok, I didn't realise.
    Just out of interest: why not?
    Short answer: It gets on my nerves, and "I" associate it with poor planning and bloated webpages. (Not here to debate that in *this* thread, though!!)




    Debbie

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    Try this:

    http://www.johns-jokes.com/downloads...edee/index.php

    No JavaScript and simplified CSS so inverse not required.
    Interesting, but not exactly what I wanted.

    Here are my full requirements...

    1.) No JavaScript

    2.) No Cookies (except for Session Cookie)

    3.) No additional "Sort Order" variable in URL (i.e. Must be done behind the scenes using Session variable)

    Why? My "Pretty URL" is long enough as it is!

    4.) Clicking on a Column Heading should sort by that Column and change the Sort Order, however, simply refreshing the page should NOT change the Sort Order

    Why? Image if every time you refreshed your Gmail or Yahoo Mail - to check for new messages - the Sort Order changed?!


    This last requirement makes things trickier!!

    I'm scratching my head now trying to come up with a solution that meets all four requirements above...

    Sincerely,


    Debbie

    P.S. Looks like this thread just went from HTML to PHP!!! (BTW, mods, I was just responding to John's comments...)

  16. #16
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    I opened up FireBug on this page, and looked at the HTML, and saw this...
    HTML Code:
    <head>
    <meta content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" http-equiv="Content-Type">
    So I guess that means that SitePoint is not being displayed as UTF-8 in my browser??
    It's really the site's server that set the encoding. This is what SP puts out:

    spheaders.png

    It happens to be the same as what's placed in the <head> in the HTML, but if it were different, the server version would win out. (I gather the main reason to have it in the <head> of the document is for when you are viewing pages offline.)

    I am not understanding how you are supposed to dictate how a page is displayed...

    Do you set this on the Server?
    Yes. If you don't like the encoding your server puts out, then you can change it. It's most likely to be UTF-8 these days, though, which is what it should be.

    But what happens when I upload my code to my VPS?
    If your remote server puts out a different encoding, there's a small chance things might change a bit on your site, so it's good to make sure your local server mirrors the settings on the remote server (encoding, PHP versions etc.)

    Looks like this thread just went from HTML to PHP!
    Your original question implied the use of JS or PHP (for sorting etc.), but JS is the standard way to go, whether you like it or not. But obviously it can be done with PHP.

  17. #17
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,051
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    Short answer: It gets on my nerves, and "I" associate it with poor planning and bloated webpages.
    Fair enough.
    The bloated pages reputation is also not entirely undeserved.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here are my full requirements...
    1. No JavaScript
    2. Clicking on a Column Heading should sort by that Column and change the Sort Order, however, simply refreshing the page should NOT change the Sort Order
    3. No additional "Sort Order" variable in URL (i.e. Must be done behind the scenes using Session variable)
    4. No Cookies (except for Session Cookie)
    • No javascript > is not the problem, everything can be done by php.
    • The fundamental problem is that there has to be a memory-setting (during the session) for the column sorting order.
    • I think it's impossible to change the Session Cookie during a session, but I'm not sure; please correct me if I'm wrong!
    • You don't want an adapted URL.
    • Then 2 things are remaining:
      1. Set the memory-bit client-side (with a php-cookie) > but you don't want that.
      2. Set the memory-bit server-side.

    The memory-bit cannot be in the page itself: then it's lost when refreshed or after visiting another page.
    So I think the only escape is to make a "memory-page" on the server, outside the page of the table.
    I guess that could be a temporary database, but don't know how to build that.

    Anyway: one cookie and the problem is solved!

    ______
    It's a "functional cookie": these are mostly allowed by cookie laws, that will not be a problem.
    The only thing is then: visitors with disabled cookies; they have to sort again at each visit of the page. But I guess there is almost nobody with totally browser-disabled cookies: 80.45296% of the websites shouldn't work for them.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,889
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    Interesting, but not exactly what I wanted.

    Here are my full requirements...
    1.) No JavaScript
    2.) No Cookies (except for Session Cookie)
    3.) No additional "Sort Order" variable in URL (i.e. Must be done behind the scenes using Session variable)
    4.) Clicking on a Column Heading should sort by that Column and change the Sort Order, however, simply refreshing the page should NOT change the Sort Order
    ---
    ---
    ---
    Try this:

    http://www.johns-jokes.com/downloads...edee/index.php

    Please test this new super-dooper version and see if all your requirements are satisfied. Take my word for it, JavaScript is NOT included
    Last edited by John_Betong; Nov 17, 2013 at 21:58. Reason: spelling: not my fortay
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Wolfshade on earning Member of the Month for August 2014

  20. #20
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    Try this:

    http://www.johns-jokes.com/downloads...edee/index.php

    Please test this new super-dooper version and see if all your requirements are satisfied. Take my word for it, JavaScript is NOT included
    Sorry, that sample doesn't work when I try it.


    I decided to remove this requirement...
    3.) No additional "Sort Order" variable in URL (i.e. Must be done behind the scenes using Session variable)

    The good news is that I figured everything out last week, and all of my Requirements were met, and the end result looks awesome. (Plus, there is No JavaScript!!)

    Thanks for trying to help.

    Sincerely,


    Debbie

  21. #21
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,889
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDee View Post
    Sorry, that sample doesn't work when I try it.
    ...
    ...
    ...
    Please supply more information as to why the sample does not work.

    Has anyone other posters tried the link and had any problems?
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Wolfshade on earning Member of the Month for August 2014

  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    Please supply more information as to why the sample does not work.

    Has anyone other posters tried the link and had any problems?
    Because when I click on the Link/Arrow it just flashes and does nothing...

    Nothing changes or sorts.

    It is broken.

    My own JavaScript-less solution is working quite nicely, though!


    Debbie

  23. #23
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    Has anyone other posters tried the link and had any problems?
    Yes, same as for DD.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @John_Betong
    Yes, I've tried your page, and now again. I see the original page of post #19 is changed in the meantime.
    Here we go!

    Browser: Firefox 23 on WinXP.

    Yesterday:
    Test 0
    After opening the page for the first time and giving a refresh (without ordering first), the toggle didn't work.

    =======
    At this moment:

    Test 1
    • Open browser (new session), clear cache, clear buffer & clear cookies for safety.
    • Go to johns-jokes.com/downloads/sp-b/doubledee/index.php
    • Sorted default setting 1st column = from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down).
    • Session cookie = 3c61baeebe1f4ddf2d5987695af9aef0
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 1 ascending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Up).
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down).
    • Etc.: o.k.
    • Last state: descending (20...1, triangle Down).
    • Give a refresh with the FF refresh button
    • O.k., sorting order the same (background grey + text "First Time or Page Refreshed", triangle Down).
    • Click on Toggle: o.k. , now ascending (bg light yellow, text "Sorted:", triangle Up)
    • Click on Toggle: o.k.
    • Etc.: o.k.
    • Session cookie = 3c61baeebe1f4ddf2d5987695af9aef0 (no change, correct)
    • Close browser.

    Test 2
    • Open browser (new session), clear cache, clear buffer & clear cookies for safety.
    • Go to Go to johns-jokes.com/downloads/sp-b/doubledee/index.php
    • Sorted default setting 1st column = from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down).
    • Session cookie = 01514a4094a1c6a9270f772bd152bf87
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 1 ascending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Up)
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down)
    • Etc.: o.k.
    • Last state: ascending (1...20, triangle Up).
    • Give a refresh with the FF refresh button
    • O.k., sorting order the same (background grey + text "First Time or Page Refreshed", triangle Up).
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now descending (bg light yellow, text "Sorted:", triangle Down)
    • Click on Toggle: o.k.
    • Etc.: o.k.
    • Session cookie = 01514a4094a1c6a9270f772bd152bf87 (no change, correct)
    • Close browser.

    So far, so good.

    Test 3
    • Open browser (new session), clear cache, clear buffer & clear cookies for safety.
    • Go to Go to johns-jokes.com/downloads/sp-b/doubledee/index.php
    • Sorted default setting 1st column = from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down).
    • Session cookie = 1aa8dd9fc291ed9e52a7e2b184e56727
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 1 ascending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Up)
    • Open a different page in a new browser tab, for instance: foogle.com.
    • Go back to the sorting page: o.k., still the same.
    • Click on Toggle: o.k. (bg light yellow, text "Sorted:", triangle Down)
    • Click on Toggle: o.k.
    • Etc.: o.k.
    • Last state: ascending (1...20, triangle Up).
    • Session cookie = 1aa8dd9fc291ed9e52a7e2b184e56727 (no change, correct)
    • Close the sorting page.
    • Open again in new tab: johns-jokes.com/downloads/sp-b/doubledee/index.php
    • Session cookie = 1aa8dd9fc291ed9e52a7e2b184e56727 (no change, correct)
    • Sorting order = now descending (20...1, triangle Down)
    • Toggling afterwards: o.k.
    • Close browser.

    Test 4
    • Open browser (new session), clear cache, clear buffer & clear cookies for safety.
    • Go to Go to johns-jokes.com/downloads/sp-b/doubledee/index.php
    • Sorted default setting 1st column = from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down).
    • Session cookie = eb39a5e6233e8be477c417750dc8ecf9
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 1 ascending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Up).
    • Last state: ascending (1...20, triangle Up).
    • Give a hard reload with a click in the address bar & Enter.
    • Sorting order = now descending (20...1, triangle Down)
    • Toggling afterwards: o.k.
    • Session cookie = eb39a5e6233e8be477c417750dc8ecf9 (no change, correct)
    • Close browser.

    Test 5
    • Open browser (new session), clear cache, clear buffer & clear cookies for safety.
    • Go to Go to johns-jokes.com/downloads/sp-b/doubledee/index.php
    • Sorted default setting 1st column = from 20 descending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Down).
    • Session cookie = 0cb89afd0c26cb2abd0d95014fedaf10
    • Click on Toggle: o.k., now from 1 ascending (text: "Sorted:", light yellow background, triangle Up).
    • Last state: ascending (1...20, triangle Up).
    • Close page.
    • Go in FF menu to: History > Recently closed Tabs.
    • Open page again.
    • Sorting order = now descending (20...1, triangle Down)
    • Toggling afterwards: o.k.
    • Session cookie = 0cb89afd0c26cb2abd0d95014fedaf10 (no change, correct)
    • Close browser.


    Note: Repeated hard reloads do change the order every time.
    Last edited by Francky; Nov 19, 2013 at 10:13. Reason: 10 min. layter: typo's corrected

  25. #25
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,931
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You know, this is a classic case of *hi-jacking* someone else's thread...

    Getting a bit annoying...


    Debbie


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •