SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Trying to install Flash media server on Debian. Need help!

    I have a Debian VPS and now i am trying to install a Flash Media Server on it. But i have some problem. Im new to linux so have some mercy on me.

    I trying to follow the installations instructions but i can't get it to work.

    I have a execute .exe file that i should upload but if i do that i get ''cannot execute binary file''
    I did this to chmod it.
    chmod +x /opt/fms.exe
    But nothing happen. It's the same ''cannot execute binary file''
    I have the fms.exe file in my root /opt im not sure if that is ok.

    What am i doing wrong here? I using this command /opt/fms.exe ./install to try to execute the fms.exe

    Please need some help here.

  2. #2
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,223
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure if this is the same thing, but you may have downloaded the Windows version instead of the one designed for Linux...
    http://help.adobe.com/en_US/adobemed...igure.2.3.html

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cpradio View Post
    Not sure if this is the same thing, but you may have downloaded the Windows version instead of the one designed for Linux...
    http://help.adobe.com/en_US/adobemed...igure.2.3.html
    LOL. Ok i have change now.

    It say like this.

    Copy the file to a directory on your local disk

    Ok i have now put the tar file in the same folder /var/opt/
    And now i enter this command tar -xzf AdobeMediaServer_5_LS1_linux64.tar.gz
    I get this error
    Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2

    Am i doing right here?

  4. #4
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,223
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You downloaded the tar.gz file from Adobe? and placed it in your /var/opt. Can you perform a ls -la *.tar.gz in your /var/opt and provide that output here?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did like this.

    /opt/AdobeMediaServer_5_LS1_linux64.tar.gz
    and i get that i have the the file here by this error
    Permission denied
    What can i do now?

  6. #6
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,223
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, be sure you are either 1) running at root, or 2) using sudo (and you are in the sudeors file)

    so as root:
    Code:
    cd /opt
    tar -xvzf AdobeMediaServer_5_LS1_linux64.tar.gz
    using sudo:
    Code:
    cd /opt
    sudo tar -xvzf AdobeMediaServer_5_LS1_linux64.tar.gz

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok Thanks!

    I did this

    cd /opt
    tar -xvzf AdobeMediaServer_5_LS1_linux64.tar.gz

    And it packed up all the files in the same directory. /opt/
    Now i have /opt/adobe/
    in this adobe map i got all the files now.
    It say something about fms inside there.
    But is it ready now? Is my FMS server ready for my rtmp://fms address?

    Or what shall i do now?

  8. #8
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,223
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whoa, slow down there. I've never actually installed this before, so I'm trying to do this purely from their installation notes

    Okay, so I want you to go into the adobe directory.
    Code:
    cd /opt/adobe
    Then run the following:
    Code:
    ./installAMS
    Follow the directions on the screen (which is steps 9, 10, 11, and 12 at http://help.adobe.com/en_US/adobemed...igure.2.3.html)

    If you get stuck, or have a question during the install, please post the text you are confused with your post, as I can't see what you see

  9. #9
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,554
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Whenever I've installed FMS on non-centos/red-hat systems, there have been dependency issues - you'll likely get error messages once you start the install process. Also, I'd recommend you turn off any webserver you have running for the duration of the installation as there wil be a clash for port 80. Once you have it installed, you can reconfigure AMS to not use 80 if necessary, and then switch it back on. Ideally, AMS should be on its own server, it requires plenty resources of memory, cpu, disk i/o and port availability that make it tricky to coexist with other server applications.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •