SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Help with jquery not working in IE10

    Hi, I'm having a glitch when testing the compatibility of my site in IE10. It works just fine in FF, safari and chrome on my macs, iPad and windows laptop. But my jquery navigation menu and fancybox image gallery just don't work.

    My site is under development and seems to be just dandy on all browsers except for IE10.:

    For some reason the menu bar and photo gallery, which are both powered by Jquery just dont work.

    Here is my code:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript"     src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.8.16/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="jQuery Sliding Flexible Menu v2/deploy/js/jquery.sliding-flexible-menu-v2.js"></script>
    <script src="SpryAssets/SpryEffects.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="jQuery Sliding Flexible Menu v2/deploy/css/sliding-flexible-menu-v2.css">
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {
        //Horizontal
        $("div.menu-horizontal").slidingFlexibleMenuv2({
                 buttonSpacing: '1'
        });
        $(".fancybox").fancybox(
                    {
    
                                        transitionIn  : 'elastic',
    transitionOut : 'elastic',
    easingIn      : 'easeOutBack',
    easingOut     : 'easeInBack',
    speedIn       : '650',
    speedOut      : '650',
    changeSpeed   : '650',
                                        padding : '0px',
        });
    });
    function MM_effectAppearFade(targetElement, duration, from, to, toggle)
    { Spry.Effect.DoFade(targetElement, {duration: duration, from: from, to: to, toggle: toggle});
    }
    </script>
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fancyapps-fancyBox-2bb0da9/source/jquery.fancybox.pack.js"></scr ipt>
    <link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="fancyapps-fancyBox-2bb0da9/source/jquery.fancybox.css">`
    Anyone got a clue why this aint working in IE????

    Full site here

    http://www.heggie5.webspace.virginmedia.com

    Cheers
    Last edited by Pullo; Oct 9, 2013 at 12:42. Reason: Added code tags

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Virtual World is my location
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks to be working fine in IE10. I tested it in IE10 on Windows 8 Pro and it works fine
    RecipesNext.com - recipes, kitchen queries, videos & more...
    BargainNext.com - coupons / deals / bargains / offers & more...

  3. #3
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    9 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cammy72 View Post
    Hi, I'm having a glitch when testing the compatibility of my site in IE10. It works just fine in FF, safari and chrome on my macs, iPad and windows laptop. But my jquery navigation menu and fancybox image gallery just don't work.
    Same here. Everything works as expected for me on IE10 in Win8

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys. I've noticed on my ie browser that the menu works on the other pages of my site, ie the about, work, play etc. I've removed the fancybox script from those pages and the site performs as it does on all other browsers. Could it be a problem within the browser that I am testing the compatibility on?

  5. #5
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    9 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cammy72 View Post
    Could it be a problem within the browser that I am testing the compatibility on?
    This would be the most likely explanation.
    What document mode are you in?
    It is possible to use the IE10 browser mode with (for example) the IE5 quirks document mode, in which case your menus won't work.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pullo View Post
    This would be the most likely explanation.
    What document mode are you in?
    It is possible to use the IE10 browser mode with (for example) the IE5 quirks document mode, in which case your menus won't work.
    Yes that was it, browser was defaulting to IE7 in document mode, have added code in head to default to most up to date browser... Sorted. Many thanks

  7. #7
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    9 Thread(s)
    I'm glad you got it sorted, but AFAIK you shouldn't have to add any extra code to the page to make it render in standards mode.
    I believe it was doing that for me and jaagare anyway.

    If someone knows better, please correct me.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Virtual World is my location
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cammy72 View Post
    Yes that was it, browser was defaulting to IE7 in document mode, have added code in head to default to most up to date browser... Sorted. Many thanks
    Can you please let us know what kind of code change you made? Because even without that it was rendering fine. I think you must have had your browser set up to render in compatibility mode which might have caused the error, but still if you could let us know what code change you made, it might be helpful and also kindly let us know the OS you were running the site on.
    RecipesNext.com - recipes, kitchen queries, videos & more...
    BargainNext.com - coupons / deals / bargains / offers & more...


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •