SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member aan91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [HELP] Error in tag </ dl>

    I just idly checking my blog html validation (http://apkfree-download.blogspot.com) in validator.w3.org.
    After i ceck apparently there is an erorr that the tag </ dl>.
    Then I tried to fix it but I could not. So I asked for help from you all to help me fix erorr on tag </ dl> this.

    For those of you who helped me, I say many thanks.

  2. #2
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,869
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aan91 View Post
    I just idly checking my blog html validation (http://apkfree-download.blogspot.com) in validator.w3.org.
    After i ceck apparently there is an erorr that the tag </ dl>.
    Then I tried to fix it but I could not. So I asked for help from you all to help me fix erorr on tag </ dl> this.

    For those of you who helped me, I say many thanks.
    Is the space between the </ and the dl> actually there in the page or did you just mistype the tag each time in the question here?
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  3. #3
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,820
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    The validator expects you to have at least one DD. That seems to be the problem.

    On a side note, I would reconsider turning that DIV inside the DT to a span, DTs are inline elements, by default, I believe.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member aan91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by felgall View Post
    Is the space between the </ and the dl> actually there in the page or did you just mistype the tag each time in the question here?
    there are no spaces between the </ and dl> master ...

    I may be a typo.

    true </dl> no spaces

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member aan91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dresden_phoenix View Post
    The validator expects you to have at least one DD. That seems to be the problem.

    On a side note, I would reconsider turning that DIV inside the DT to a span, DTs are inline elements, by default, I believe.

    So, how do you resolve this error.
    I've tried a few tips from fellow bloggers, but it's all right there.

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aan91 View Post
    So, how do you resolve this error.
    You are using the wrong element. A <dl> is for a definition list, where you have a <dt> (definition term) and a <dd> (description). That's not the kind of info you are presenting here, so it's the wrong element anyway. But if you want to keep it, you need a <dd>, as already mentioned.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member aan91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You are using the wrong element. A <dl> is for a definition list, where you have a <dt> (definition term) and a <dd> (description). That's not the kind of info you are presenting here, so it's the wrong element anyway. But if you want to keep it, you need a <dd>, as already mentioned.
    Hello master ralph.m...
    thanks you for reply..

    On my blog there are two codes </dl>.

    Code:
    <a name='links'/><h4><data:post.backlinksLabel/></h4>
      <b:if cond='data:post.numBacklinks != 0'>
        <dl class='comments-block' id='comments-block'>
          <b:loop values='data:post.backlinks' var='backlink'>
            <div class='collapsed-backlink backlink-control'>
              <dt class='comment-title'>
                <span class='backlink-toggle-zippy'>&#160;</span>
                <a expr:href='data:backlink.url' rel='nofollow'><data:backlink.title/></a>
                <b:include data='backlink' name='backlinkDeleteIcon'/>
              </dt>
              <dd class='comment-body collapseable'>
                <data:backlink.snippet/>
              </dd>
              <dd class='comment-footer collapseable'>
                <span class='comment-author'><data:post.authorLabel/> <data:backlink.author/></span>
                <span class='comment-timestamp'><data:post.timestampLabel/> <data:backlink.timestamp/></span>
              </dd>
            </div>
          </b:loop>
        </dl>
      </b:if>
    Code:
    <div expr:id='data:widget.instanceId + &quot;_comments-block-wrapper&quot;'>
            <dl expr:class='data:post.avatarIndentClass' id='comments-block'>
              <b:loop values='data:post.comments' var='comment'>
                <dt expr:class='&quot;comment-author &quot; + data:comment.authorClass' expr:id='data:comment.anchorName'>
                  <b:if cond='data:comment.favicon'>
                    <img expr:src='data:comment.favicon' height='16px' style='margin-bottom:-2px;' width='16px'/>
                  </b:if>
                  <a expr:name='data:comment.anchorName'/>
                  <b:if cond='data:blog.enabledCommentProfileImages'>
                    <data:comment.authorAvatarImage/>
                  </b:if>
                  <b:if cond='data:comment.authorUrl'>
                    <a expr:href='data:comment.authorUrl' rel='nofollow'><data:comment.author/></a>
                  <b:else/>
                    <data:comment.author/>
                  </b:if>
                  <data:commentPostedByMsg/>
                </dt>
                <dd class='comment-body' expr:id='data:widget.instanceId + data:comment.cmtBodyIdPostfix'>
                  <b:if cond='data:comment.isDeleted'>
                    <span class='deleted-comment'><data:comment.body/></span>
                  <b:else/>
                    <p>
                      <data:comment.body/>
                    </p>
                  </b:if>
                </dd>
                <dd class='comment-footer'>
                  <span class='comment-timestamp'>
                    <a expr:href='data:comment.url' rel='nofollow' title='comment permalink'>
                      <data:comment.timestamp/>
                    </a>
                    <b:include data='comment' name='commentDeleteIcon'/>
                  </span>
                </dd>
              </b:loop>
            </dl>
          </div>
    According to you, the above code where the location of faults????

    I apologize if troublesome ...
    honestly, I am a beginner in the world of web design

    I go to this forum also willing to learn web design and more ....

  8. #8
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,820
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    What we are saying is if you are going to use a DL you need to have BOTH DTs and DDs inside it, that's what DLs are for. If your content doesnt allow for that for some reason, then a DL may just be the wrong structural tag.



    I am not familiar with language your CMS is using, but it looks like the DDs are there , they are just not outputting. In other words, your "fault" may not even be on your code ... but in your data.

  9. #9
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,869
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Can you post the HTML that gets sent to the web browser rather than the original that gets run on the server to generate the HTML. It is always easier to work out HTML problems by looking at the HTML.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member aan91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dresden_phoenix View Post
    What we are saying is if you are going to use a DL you need to have BOTH DTs and DDs inside it, that's what DLs are for. If your content doesnt allow for that for some reason, then a DL may just be the wrong structural tag.



    I am not familiar with language your CMS is using, but it looks like the DDs are there , they are just not outputting. In other words, your "fault" may not even be on your code ... but in your data.
    is ok, many thanks for you reply


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •