SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Displaying javascript menu over Java

    Hello,

    I got a javascript/dhtml drop down menu on my website. Under this menu I have a small Java file displaying a video. As you may know, the javascript/dhtml menu appears in the back of the Java file rather than staying in front.

    Does anyone knows a solution for this? Perhaps some other menu I could use or is it like that with any javascript menu?

    Thanks.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  2. #2
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Two solutions that I know of

    1) Use an IFRAME to hold the submenu
    2) Hide (via display:none) the applet when the submenu is up (like how an MSN news page hides its IFRAME advertisements because of the large pop-out menus at the left)
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  3. #3
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know much about Java, so the second one seems kind of odd for me but the IFRAME solution sounds like a great idea. I'll try it out.

    Thanks a lot.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  4. #4
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That didn't work as expected. The IFRAME expands itself to the size of the drop down menus.

    How exactly should I set up the second suggestion? Should I add something like this to the applet code:

    <PARAM NAME="DISPLAY" VALUE="NONE">

    I'm just guessing. Thanks.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  5. #5
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, you'd need to use JS to trigger it -- when the popup appears, perform this action

    document.getElementById( 'appletId' ).style.display = 'none';

    And reverse it when the menu is hidden. Got that?
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  6. #6
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok. Should I include that code inside the <img> tag? This is what I use for the menu:

    Code:
    <img src="images/file.jpg" width="100" height="100" border="0" alt="" name="menu0" id="menu0" 
    onmouseover="showMenu(event)" onmouseout="hideMenu(event)">
    Also the appletId would be the value assigned to the name attribute on the <applet> tag. Am I right?

    Thanks for all your help.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  7. #7
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps anyone else can help me out. I would appreciate a lot.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Crazybanana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    In tha fruit cellar
    Posts
    1,379
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    applets like flote on the top of page. maybe a small iframe without "scrolling" for the applet will help, or maybe a transparent layer with overflow="visible" for your menu will help.. or maybe a plugin module for mediaplayer and displaying the video in .asf or other formats. i use plugins to stream both audio/video and it works real fine. has used it for about 4 yrs. if nothing of this was intresting then maybe we could see some code..
    Who's to doom when the judge himself is dragged before the bar


  9. #9
    Free your mind Toly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    2,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok. Thanks for your help. I'll see what I can come up with.
    Community Guidelines | Community FAQ

    "He that is kind is free, though he is a slave;
    he that is evil is a slave, though he be a king." - St. Augustine


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •