SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to protect Database?

My website is programmed using PHP, and I would like advice on the best way to protect my Database and Database Settings from hackers.

Currently I have a "database_connection.php" file which contains all of my connection details (e.g. Database Host, User, Password, Name).

It is located in a directory called "secure" which has has .htaccess file in the same directory with this code...

Code:
    deny from all

Anytime a script needs to access MySQL, it has this code at the top of the file...

PHP Code:
        require_once(WEB_ROOT 'secure/database_connection.php'); 

I'm not very experienced on this topic, and fear this could be my Achilles Heal?!

Sincerely,

Debbie

Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If your hosting allows it you should move the file with the settings in it above the folder that the web site is in. That way it will only be accessible from PHP and not directly.

You can also place code in the file itself that tests whether it is being called or accessed directly and which disallows direct access.
    Stephen J Chapman

javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by felgall View Post
    You can also place code in the file itself that tests whether it is being called or accessed directly and which disallows direct access.
    You lost me on this part...

Debbie

Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Similar to this:
    PHP Code:
    if (!is_defined('ACCEPTABLE')) exit;