SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Design complete - looks great in all except IE5/Mac

    XHTML - http://www.zero-crossing.com/index.htm
    CSS - http://www.zero-crossing.com/css/take2.css

    IE5 Mac completely bungles the main "copy" which is nested inside the content DIV.

    Can't seem to figure out why. Camino, Safari, and IE5 and 6 for PC seem to render just fine...

  2. #2
    Team SitePoint AlexW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    832
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice job with the site, Indicator. Looking great.

    My guess is your issue is caused by your width settings. I know that I've had problems with Width:auto in IE5 PC before.

    I haven't got an absolute solution, but might be worth trying to set no width at all on 'content' but giving it a 30% margin-right setting to keep it out of the right nav. Kill the width on copy too. It should automatically fill the space.
    Alex Walker
    SitePoint Developer
    SitePoint - Learnable

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the tip, Alex. That does seem to help somewhat, although I've found that the real culprit in IE5 Mac is the "float:left" style that I apply to the "tabs" (just a formatted <ul> ). If I rem out that line, the browser window displays properly in IE5 Mac - though it still doesn't look "right". I'll have to play around with using a different kind of positioning for that...Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Team SitePoint AlexW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    832
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe use 'display:inline' on both the LI and UL rather than float, which is tempermental. Maybe something like:
    Code:
    #mainnav ul {
    	margin-left: 0;
    	padding-left: 0;
    	display: inline;
    	} 
    
    #mainnav ul li {
    	margin-left: 0;
    	padding: 10px;
    	list-style: none;
    	display: inline;
    	}
    {
    Alex Walker
    SitePoint Developer
    SitePoint - Learnable

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AARGH! It still isn't working...I managed to get relatively close using absolute positioning on the #minitabs div - this resolves the #copy problem. But there are still a few strange things about the way the nav menu draws when using that form...

    It looks like I may have to go back to the drawing board and start from scratch with the Nav menu.

  6. #6
    Team SitePoint AlexW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    832
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IT's still IE5 Mac that is the problem?

    You may have seen it This article at ALA is the best thing I've seen on horizontal lists.

    http://www.alistapart.com/stories/taminglists/
    Alex Walker
    SitePoint Developer
    SitePoint - Learnable

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I've read that. It is very good. But it appears that it isn't the list that's actually causing the problem, but the container DIV positioning. I need to figure out how to get that to work properly across all browsers...

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MacIE5 has problems with floats in absolutely positioned boxes. You should try static instead. Or just use the display : inline as suggested above.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I should have added to that: "display:inline" has been applied in the stylesheet from the beginning, so this isn't really affecting the overall display. I'll try using "static"...

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    R.U. and Alex - It looks like the "position:static" syntax might work...I'll let you know for sure this evening when I upload. Thanks for all your help!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •