SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey

    Just telling everyone I got my new laptop today - it finally came after waiting in acticipation for 2 weeks!

    Is it possible to be in love with a machine?

    It is a Dell Inspiron 750mhz with 128 RAM (but takes up to 512), 30gig and a 15inch sXGA screen.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru prequel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    682
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i love portable pcs... so yes it is possible to be in love

    i want one ... care to trade my 486sx/33 notebook hehe j/k

    what a beast that is... hope you enjoy it

    the portable i want is either the

    Panasonic M2XR ultraportable
    http://www.jpd.com/computers/cfm1/cfm2_specs.gif

    or the

    Toshiba Dynabook DS60
    http://www.jpd.com/computers/dynaboo...ds60_specs.gif

    i love portables sooo much i am dedicating a site to them

  3. #3
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nicky,

    Yep, it's totally possible to be in love with your laptop - just ask my Dad!

    He grabbed a new Gateway PIII 733 with WinME, DVD, 15 inch and all. To say that I envy him like hell would be the understatement of the year....
    My 2 Cents (or is that 2.2 Cents including GST?)

  4. #4
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine is a PIII with DVD too. It is a bit heavy but it is a small price to pay for a 15inch.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict jamesglewisf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Big D
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm working on my new IBM T20:

    700Mhz
    11.2GB HD
    255MB RAM
    DVD
    CD/RW
    LS-120
    10/100 Ethernet
    56K Modem

    Very thin and about 5 pounds. It is easily the best laptop I have ever owned, and over the past 12 years I've had Compaq, 2 Dells, Micron, and NEC.
    Jim Lewis
    To BE or Not to BE, or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barium Enema
    FrappyDoo Forums

  6. #6
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine is Toshiba Satellite with DVD, but its CPU and storage are not very powerful like recent models (433Mhz)
    It looks cute though!
    Although I first considered the Fujitsu LifeBook (those are really cool!)
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  7. #7
    Misfit
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    2,266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since we're talking about new computers here, I just thought I'd tell you about the computer I ordered two days ago from Dell. The specs...

    Dell 4100
    Pentium III 1GHz
    40GB HD
    256MB Ram
    12x DVD-Rom
    4x8x32 CD-RW
    32MB TNT2 Video Card
    SoundBlaster Live Sound Card
    Altec Lansing Surround Sound Speakers
    17" Trinitron Monitor
    Floppy
    Keyboard
    Mouse
    The only thing I hate about Dell is I have to wait two weeks before it arrives Oh well, something to look forward too along with my newly ordered DSL line

  8. #8
    SitePoint Co-founder Matt Mickiewicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nicky: You've got better specs on your Inspiron 7500 than I do!

    Mine's a 600 mhz PIII, 128MB RAM, 18 Gig HDD (only 3 gigs free), 15.4" SXGA screen. I actually haven't used a desktop in several years. I just got this laptop two months ago after my Dell Inspiron 7000 got swiped in Australia...
    Matt Mickiewicz - Co-Founder
    SitePoint.com - Empowering Web Developers Since 1997
    Follow me on Twitter.

  9. #9
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Matt, I just got mine and it is brand new in the Dell catalogue so it is bound to be a bit better than yours.
    They are all based on the same system so they should be quite similar.

    Bummer about yours getting stolen though.

    I can say one thing about Dells though, the screen is absolutely excellent!

    And the SpeedStep technology is ace, means you can swop stuff int he bays without rebooting.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Co-founder Matt Mickiewicz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know, the screens are superb. I haven't bothered hooking up an external monitor to either the Inspiron 7000 or the 7500. The huge LCDs on both laptops are more than good enough.

    Kevin was telling me the other day that the ClearType technologoy incorporated in Windows2000 does wonders on clarity of text on LCD's. Time to upgrade...
    Matt Mickiewicz - Co-Founder
    SitePoint.com - Empowering Web Developers Since 1997
    Follow me on Twitter.

  11. #11
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ha ha
    Mine came with Window 2000 and I reformatted, partitioned my hard drive and installed Win 98

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sniff sniff...

    I'll trade some graphics work for an old laptop...


    <Edited by creole on 11-28-2000 at 11:29 PM>
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  13. #13
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hehe, creole. Same here. My computer is becoming outdated.

    Congrats with the new computer, Nicky.

  14. #14
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ...mmmmm I have already broken something!

    I had it hooked to my network at home and I was messgin on SP (as you do) on my desktop, and the laptop is on a desk wi=hcih forms a 90 degree angle with my desktop. I swiveled round and pulled it towards me and broke my new lovely 3COM network card. Pulled it right out and the cable got twisted and stuck inside. Gotta order a new one now but it is SO inconvenient being even one day without one.

  15. #15
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, sounds bad Nicky!!
    These laptops are for touching, not "pulling" and "pushing"
    Hope you find a good deal
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard jumpthru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    Hey Matt, I just got mine and it is brand new in the Dell catalogue so it is bound to be a bit better than yours.
    They are all based on the same system so they should be quite similar.

    Bummer about yours getting stolen though.

    I can say one thing about Dells though, the screen is absolutely excellent!

    And the SpeedStep technology is ace, means you can swop stuff int he bays without rebooting.
    You sure thats what speed step is? I thought it was so that you can slow down the cpu when on a battery and speed it up when on a/c. that way it takes less batery power...

  17. #17
    SitePoint Addict jamesglewisf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Big D
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think speedstep is the technology that slows the processor down to use less energy when you are in power-saving mode.
    Jim Lewis
    To BE or Not to BE, or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barium Enema
    FrappyDoo Forums

  18. #18
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    James is correct here.

    Speedstep technology allows your Processor to run at its maximum speed while plugged into the AC adapter and at a slower (~350-400 megahertz) when drawing power from the battery. This allows the battery to last longer.

    Intel SpeedStep Technology
    Mobile Pentium III processors featuring Intel SpeedStep technology are designed to deliver desktop-class performance for mobile PCs. The processors can dynamically switch clock frequency and voltage, depending on whether the computer is running on batteries or is plugged into AC power. When running in Battery Optimized Mode, the processors run at a lower frequency and lower voltage (1.35 volts), significantly lowering CPU power consumption while still delivering high performance. When a user plugs into an AC outlet, the notebook can automatically switch to Maximum Performance Mode, increasing the frequency significantly. These changes in frequency happen in only 1/2000th of a second -- so fast, they are invisible to users, even if they occur in the middle of performance-intensive applications, such as playing a DVD movie. Users also have the freedom to select the Maximum Performance Mode even while running on batteries. Making the switch is as easy as clicking an icon at the bottom of the screen, and no reboot is required.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  19. #19
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I was wrong, it is this little icon on the bottom left and I can change the settings according to your power source!

    But it does allow me to swop things in the bays without rebooting which is cool too.

    As to pulling things, you have never met me I am the clumsiest person over. If somethign is to be broken or fallen over believe me I will be there

  20. #20
    SitePoint Enthusiast Sparklit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Victoria,BC,Canada
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    But it does allow me to swop things in the bays without rebooting which is cool too.
    What your referring to is called "Hot Swapping" ...

    Edit:

    devices that can do this are known as "hot swapable"


    HTH


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •