SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Bhopal, India
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile Increase your internet speed

    Some simple techniques will be discussed here.

  2. #2
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,825
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you be more specific? Are you talking download/upload speeds via broadband, wireless, 56k modem, telegraph, morse code, smoke signals, or what?
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Bhopal, India
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Obviously when i refer to internet speed it will actually be downloading speed. Whatever connection may have been used, usually slow connection speed are occured in Dial-up networks & 56k Modems.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So, what do you suggest?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Bhopal, India
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Firefox Modding

    Quote Originally Posted by rma2011 View Post
    So, what do you suggest?
    You can do many things such as modding your browser.
    For eg you can mod your firefox in following manner..

    Here's what you do:
    In the URL bar, type “about:config” and press enter. This will bring up the configuration “menu” where you can change the parameters of Firefox.


    Note that these are what I’ve found to REALLY speed up my Firefox significantly - and these settings seem to be common among everybody else as well. But these settings are optimized for broadband connections - I mean with as much concurrent requests we’re going to open up with pipelining… lol… you’d better have a big connection.


    Double Click on the following settins and put in the numbers below - for the true / false booleans - they’ll change when you double click.


    Code:
    browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs – true
    network.http.max-connections – 48
    network.http.max-connections-per-server – 16
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy – 8
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server – 4
    network.http.pipelining – true
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests – 100
    network.http.proxy.pipelining – true
    network.http.request.timeout – 300




    One more thing… Right-click somewhere on that screen and add a NEW -> Integer. Name it “nglayout.initialpaint.delay” and set its value to “0”. This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives. Since you’re broadband - it shouldn’t have to wait.


    Now you should notice you’re loading pages MUCH faster now!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member johnlarase's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in Asia
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What versions of Firefox are these settings applicable to?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophybronze trophy
    Mikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Himanshu31shr,

    It would be helpful if you could explain what those Firefox settings mean - or, rather, what the effect of the changes would be. And what trade-offs are involved?

    I can't help thinking that if making those changes always improved performance, then the settings you suggested would be the defaults - unless there's a trade-off somewhere.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    16,483
    Mentioned
    164 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    There is a reason going into about config gives you a warning. It's not something to mess with casually or without full understanding of what you're doing.

    My guess is that changing those settings will at least affect memory use.

    What is optimal for one user's system, and the way they use it, may not necessarily be best for another.

    IMHO a good "rule of thumb" is if you don't know what you're doing, don't do it.

  9. #9
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy
    Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,524
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I wouldn't recommend messing with HTTP session counts and timeouts. There's too much that can potentially go wrong.

    For dial up connections, I'd recommend using the Opera browser and the built-in "Opera Turbo" feature.

    http://help.opera.com/Windows/12.10/en/turbo.html
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  10. #10
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophybronze trophy
    Mikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    1,447
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IMHO a good "rule of thumb" is if you don't know what you're doing, don't do it.
    Correct, And that's exactly why I asked for more information about what the settings are for.

    Mike

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey... pick a good paid broadband connection....

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member facebookfansbuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use broadband i think its help you a lot. i am also using broadband and i am satisfied with this

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member afmrafiqulislam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes broadband connection is more better than dial up..

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by himanshu31shr View Post
    You can do many things such as modding your browser.
    For eg you can mod your firefox in following manner..

    ...


    Now you should notice you’re loading pages MUCH faster now!
    I actually tried these. Let's see what happens.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Member freepdfbooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    keep your computer free of virus and keep your windows updated


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •