SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Drop Down Menu function

    I'm working on a site with a drop down menu accross the top.

    The question I have is should the text which opens (on mouse over) the drop-down menu, be a link to an index page of some sort, or should the first link in the drop down menu be the link to the index page? I'm just not sure if people will expect to be able to click on the text.

    In some cases I don't need an index page, the sub sections are just categoried by the link text.

    TIA

  2. #2
    "Of" != "Have" bronze trophy Jeff Lange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    2,063
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well if the menus are powered by Javascript, I'd say the text that opens the menu should be a link to an index page, for accessibility reasons.
    Who walks the stairs without a care
    It shoots so high in the sky.
    Bounce up and down just like a clown.
    Everyone knows its Slinky.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    N.Ireland
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'd also need an alternative menu for users who have javascript disabled

  4. #4
    Forensic SEO Consultant Webnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    1,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can we see the code?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys, yep, got to think about the non-javascript surfers too.

    Webnauts - I'm using the standard DreamweaverMX produced code.

  6. #6
    Forensic SEO Consultant Webnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    1,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by digit18
    Thanks guys, yep, got to think about the non-javascript surfers too.

    Webnauts - I'm using the standard DreamweaverMX produced code.
    Even if you use a WYSIWYG editor, don't assume that it can write correct HTML!!!

  7. #7
    Forensic SEO Consultant Webnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    1,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    By the way, while we are talking here about drop-down lists, I wanted to say that they are not really usable. Selection lists would be a much more usable option.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm just using the javascript output from DreamweaverMX and dropping it into an existing file. (I don't know, nor do I want to get into javascript for the sake of small things like this)

    I like the javascript drop-down menu ideda because they allow the user to quickly browse, and get to, sub-sections (and sub-sub-sections) on hover, while selection lists are bit slower, in that you have an extra click?

  9. #9
    Forensic SEO Consultant Webnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    1,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    I avoid as far as possible JavaScript, to avoid running risks on complications on the end users machines, or while goverment and other employees are required to disable this feature, for security or other reasons. Also there is a number of users who are very concerned about security issues and disable this feature too.

    Some sites using drop-down menu, would reload the page if the for example the line (-----------) is selected, which can disorientate or confuse the user.

    Another issue is if the user is navigating with a keyboard, he type's the first letter, he is brought to the first word in the list that begin's with that letter. When there are more items with the same first letter, then the user has a problem. If he type's a second letter in the word he seek's, he goes to the first word that begin's with that letter.

    That is why I said, selection lists are much more usable!

    It is just my point of view?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •