SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Networking Issues with Debian Wheezy

    So my computer crashed over the weekend taking the power supply and CPU with it. So I've replaced the mother board, CPU, RAM, Power supply, and got a SSD.

    However, the darn thing won't get an internet connection (router is 192.168.1.1). I've verified the onboard LAN is Enabled, but Debian, Mepis, and Kubuntu all can't connect!!

    So, assuming the onboard network is good, what other distro should I try? Or do I declare the onboard network to be bad at this stage?

    My current requirements are KDE4 (if the distro doesn't support it, I don't want it; I'm one of the few that likes KDE4).
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  2. #2
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    4,904
    Mentioned
    93 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is the router set to only allow certain MAC addresses to access it?
    Is the computer set to use a static or dynamic IP
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  3. #3
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy
    Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,516
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Is the computer getting all the IP address information (IP, subnet, gateway, and DNS)?
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  4. #4
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Is the router set to only allow certain MAC addresses to access it?
    Is the computer set to use a static or dynamic IP
    No, All MAC addresses are open. The computer is set to neither... Brand new hard drive, trying a base install of Debian. It can't connect via the onboard lan. I did take a wireless card from my other tower and it connects just fine (so long as I use WEP. BLEH!) Unfortunately, Debian still refused to acknowledge the internet connection to do a net install. MEPIS Live CD works with it though (both KDE4 and KDE3.5) So I may be trying to install via MEPIS...

    Quote Originally Posted by Force Flow View Post
    Is the computer getting all the IP address information (IP, subnet, gateway, and DNS)?
    Looks like it from ifconfig (for the onboard lan), but every packet ends up in the "errors" column. The wireless card works fine.

    More info:
    The onboard lan is a realtek 8111/8168

    Just found this site (will have to try that once I can get a distro installed!):
    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...-issue-615047/
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  5. #5
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another question:
    This is my first SSD, and from what I've read, it is a good idea to put your /home, /var, and /tmp (if you don't use tmpfs) on a mechanical drive (same with swap -- unless you disable swap).

    Has anyone else setup an SSD with Linux yet? Any words of advice, as Debian drilled me about trying to separate those partitions across two different drives. It just refused to successfully partition them (so I started to attempt to put them all on the SSD, and I'd manually move them later...).
    Last edited by cpradio; Aug 26, 2013 at 07:46.
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  6. #6
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, so I ended up downloading the debian wheezy dvds via bittorrent and installing the operating system that way. But for the life of me, I still can't get the network controller to work! I've manually compiled the drivers, proved the kernel was using them via lspci -vv, but I still can't ping anything!

    Would any settings in selinux or iptables cause this issue? I mean, it looks like eth0 is configured via ifconfig (I've also tried static and dhcp settings). I've triple checked that my router does not have a whitelist for lan setup. I've also enabled IPv6 on the router, just in case, the eth0 is trying to use IPv6 (though it has an IPv4 static address).

    I'm at a loss on this!
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  7. #7
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    4,904
    Mentioned
    93 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What networking hardware is currently installed (both wired and wireless - on-board and expansion cards)?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  8. #8
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Output from lspci -vv

    Wireless card on a PCI slot (I really want to get the on-board one working)
    Code:
    04:06.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT2500 Wireless 802.11bg (rev 01)
    	Subsystem: Linksys WMP54G v4.0 PCI Adapter
    	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=slow >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    	Latency: 32, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 20
    	Region 0: Memory at f7200000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
    	Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
    		Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
    		Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    	Kernel driver in use: rt2500pci
    And (the on-board)
    Code:
    05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
    	Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology GA-EP45-DS5/GA-EG45M-DS2H Motherboard
    	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
    	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    	Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 74
    	Region 0: I/O ports at b000 [size=256]
    	Region 2: Memory at d0004000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
    	Region 4: Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=16K]
    	Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
    		Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=375mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold+)
    		Status: D0 NoSoftRst+ PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    	Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
    		Address: 00000000feeff00c  Data: 4191
    	Capabilities: [70] Express (v2) Endpoint, MSI 01
    		DevCap:	MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <512ns, L1 <64us
    			ExtTag- AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
    		DevCtl:	Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
    			RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-
    			MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 4096 bytes
    		DevSta:	CorrErr- UncorrErr+ FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr+ TransPend-
    		LnkCap:	Port #0, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 unlimited, L1 <64us
    			ClockPM+ Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
    		LnkCtl:	ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+
    			ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
    		LnkSta:	Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
    		DevCap2: Completion Timeout: Range ABCD, TimeoutDis+
    		DevCtl2: Completion Timeout: 50us to 50ms, TimeoutDis-
    		LnkCtl2: Target Link Speed: 2.5GT/s, EnterCompliance- SpeedDis-, Selectable De-emphasis: -6dB
    			 Transmit Margin: Normal Operating Range, EnterModifiedCompliance- ComplianceSOS-
    			 Compliance De-emphasis: -6dB
    		LnkSta2: Current De-emphasis Level: -6dB, EqualizationComplete-, EqualizationPhase1-
    			 EqualizationPhase2-, EqualizationPhase3-, LinkEqualizationRequest-
    	Capabilities: [b0] MSI-X: Enable- Count=4 Masked-
    		Vector table: BAR=4 offset=00000000
    		PBA: BAR=4 offset=00000800
    	Capabilities: [d0] Vital Product Data
    		Unknown small resource type 00, will not decode more.
    	Capabilities: [100 v1] Advanced Error Reporting
    		UESta:	DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO+ CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
    		UEMsk:	DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
    		UESvrt:	DLP+ SDES+ TLP- FCP+ CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
    		CESta:	RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr-
    		CEMsk:	RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
    		AERCap:	First Error Pointer: 0e, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-
    	Capabilities: [140 v1] Virtual Channel
    		Caps:	LPEVC=0 RefClk=100ns PATEntryBits=1
    		Arb:	Fixed- WRR32- WRR64- WRR128-
    		Ctrl:	ArbSelect=Fixed
    		Status:	InProgress-
    		VC0:	Caps:	PATOffset=00 MaxTimeSlots=1 RejSnoopTrans-
    			Arb:	Fixed- WRR32- WRR64- WRR128- TWRR128- WRR256-
    			Ctrl:	Enable+ ID=0 ArbSelect=Fixed TC/VC=01
    			Status:	NegoPending- InProgress-
    	Capabilities: [160 v1] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-00-68-4c-e0-00
    	Kernel driver in use: r8168
    Last edited by cpradio; Aug 29, 2013 at 02:04. Reason: Updated the lspci output executed as root
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  9. #9
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is the output of ifconfig
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 94:de:80:b9:ae:45  
              inet addr:192.168.1.200  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::96de:80ff:feb9:ae45/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:198 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1060 (1.0 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:74 Base address:0x6000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:1904 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1904 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:152648 (149.0 KiB)  TX bytes:152648 (149.0 KiB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0f:66:ed:7f:a7  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Here is the interfaces file
    Code:
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    #allow-hotplug eth0
    auto eth0
    #iface eth0 inet dhcp
    iface eth0 inet static
            address 192.168.1.200
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            gateway 192.168.1.1
    
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
            wireless-essid my_ssid
            wireless-key1 my_key1
            wireless-key2 my_key2
            wireless-key3 my_key3
            wireless-defaultkey 1
            wireless-keymode open

    Relevant info from dmesg
    Code:
    [    1.633330] r8168 Gigabit Ethernet driver 8.036.00-NAPI loaded
    [    1.633365] r8168 0000:05:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [    1.633427] r8168 0000:05:00.0: irq 74 for MSI/MSI-X
    [    1.644315] r8168: This product is covered by one or more of the following patents: US6,570,884, US6,115,776, and US6,327,625.
    [    1.644320] r8168  Copyright (C) 2013  Realtek NIC software team <nicfae@realtek.com> 
    [    1.644321]  This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; for details, please see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>. 
    [    1.644322]  This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions; see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>. 
    [    3.501464] rt2500pci 0000:04:06.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
    [    3.519237] Registered led device: rt2500pci-phy0::radio
    [    3.519251] Registered led device: rt2500pci-phy0::quality
    [   11.232068] r8168: eth0: link up
    [   11.243686] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [   21.816048] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [  499.422393] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
    [  502.424044] r8168: eth0: link up
    [  502.435651] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [  513.344045] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [  520.763337] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
    [  523.764046] r8168: eth0: link up
    [  523.775566] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [  533.840083] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 1320.584474] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
    [ 1323.584008] r8168: eth0: link up
    [ 1323.595581] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [ 1334.480030] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 3299.916492] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
    [ 3302.916064] r8168: eth0: link up
    [ 3302.927635] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [ 3303.926470] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    [ 3313.296067] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 3657.606055] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
    [ 3660.608060] r8168: eth0: link up
    [ 3660.619715] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [ 3667.470345] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    [ 3671.392070] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [ 3800.929554] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
    [ 3803.074359] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    [ 3803.928063] r8168: eth0: link up
    [ 3803.939596] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
    [ 3814.064084] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes

  10. #10
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    141 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, I swear I tried this before, but I just put the following in my sysctl.conf

    Code:
    net.ipv6.conf.all.autoconf=1
    net.ipv6.conf.all.accept_ra=0
    net.ipv6.conf.all.disable_ipv6=0
    Rebooted and it works. I have a connection via eth0

    I also changed a bios setting of IOMMU to enabled, not sure what that did (but read about it somewhere else); manual says it enables/disables AMD IOMMU support...
    Be sure to congratulate xMog on earning April's Member of the Month
    Go ahead and blame me, I still won't lose any sleep over it
    My Blog | My Technical Notes


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •