SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: menu problem

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard dethfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    menu problem

    can anyone see why the left side menu doesn't work?

    http://www.topfloortech.com/clients/...n/web/home.htm
    Free Science Homework Help
    http://www.physicsforums.com

  2. #2
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks like it's working to me. I mean, the colors and spacing (in IE) look a bit off, but the submenus pop-up just fine.

    IE6 & Mozilla 1.3.1
    WindowsXP Pro
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard dethfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the submenus should work fine, my problem is the left side
    specificly the mouse overs and changes in css classes, doesn't it act flakey?
    Free Science Homework Help
    http://www.physicsforums.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, the side menu appears to be fine. Other then the minor problem starting with "Pressure Sensitive Tapes", where the menu popping up is not aligned nicely. I think everything looks fine on IE6.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard dethfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ah I see, on my mac when I roll over the links it changes the image background by switching css classes, but it doesn't seem to show up in IE at all. You can kinda see it on the first one when you roll over the sub menu.
    Free Science Homework Help
    http://www.physicsforums.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The links on the side are using different classes from your stylesheet.

    The following are using mainnav:
    Heat Shrink Tubing
    Identification Products
    Specialty Products
    Value Added Services

    The following are using mainnav2:
    Extruded Tubing and Sleeving
    Pressure Sensitive Tapes
    Adhesives, Sealants and Encapsulants
    Wire and Cable Management Products
    Cleaners, Solvents and Static Control

    This is probably what is causing some of the labels on the side menu look like links while others looks like headings.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard dethfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks dan, now how we solve the problem of IE not using css to switch the backgrounds on mouseover?

    Is this IE compliant css?

    .mainnav2 a:hover {
    color: #FFFFFF;
    text-decoration: none;
    background-image: url(navbox2.gif);
    background-repeat: no-repeat;
    }
    Last edited by dethfire; Jul 1, 2003 at 12:16.
    Free Science Homework Help
    http://www.physicsforums.com

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try setting all the link properties the same.

    Code:
    a:active { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    a:hover { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    a:link { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    a:visited { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    I don't know how to get rid of the underline when you hover over the link though.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard dethfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    still doesn't work, I think it's an IE bug. Just move over and try out the first popout menu for the first link on the left side navigation, use IE. It seems to work, but everyonce in a while the mouseover css image background for the left side link seems to flicker randomly.
    Free Science Homework Help
    http://www.physicsforums.com

  10. #10
    Object Not Found junjun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    northern MI
    Posts
    1,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by danielng5
    Try setting all the link properties the same.
    Code:
    a:active { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    a:hover { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    a:link { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    a:visited { color: #FFFFFF; text-decoration: none; background-image: url(navbox2.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; }
    I don't know how to get rid of the underline when you hover over the link though.
    Remember the correct logic order:
    a:link
    a:visited
    a:hover
    a:active


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •